Icy Dock MB971SP-B DuoSwap 2.5in / 3.5in SATA Hot Swap Drive Caddy

MX40512 MB971SP-B DuoSwap 2.5in / 3.5in SATA Hot Swap Drive Caddy
MX40512 MB971SP-B DuoSwap 2.5in / 3.5in SATA Hot Swap Drive Caddy MX40512 MB971SP-B DuoSwap 2.5in / 3.5in SATA Hot Swap Drive Caddy MX40512 MB971SP-B DuoSwap 2.5in / 3.5in SATA Hot Swap Drive Caddy MX40512 MB971SP-B DuoSwap 2.5in / 3.5in SATA Hot Swap Drive Caddy

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: 3.8 / 5 With 11 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
Friday, December 30, 2016
By: Dave T
From: Calgary SE Store

Totally WORTH the price..

Strengths:

Easy Setup, easy eject.

Weaknesses:

Confusing buttons....but once figured out, very easy to use.

Additional Comments:

Needed this puppy to eliminate my Esata. Setup was a breeze, once I saw the the unit has two power buttons for each dock, install, detection and ejection are a breeze. I don't know why the others have probs ejecting... but I think they are using the full height hard drives. the newer hard-drives are a bit narrower and eject with no issues at all.. the older full height one's need to be coaxed out.
Thursday, December 03, 2015
By: Maurice
From: Elk Point

has served well

Strengths:

excellent for cloning system drive and other swapping of drives switch for each drive is essential, better then alternative

Weaknesses:

had trouble as received, had to modify (bend) something a little flimsy in removable drive bay with rail
Friday, July 24, 2015
By: Tobias
From: Calgary

eject mechanism does not work

Strengths:

- stuff two drives in one bay - seperate on/off switch

Weaknesses:

the lever for the 2.5" drive simply does not work and it is impossible to get the drive out by it. You have to get in with your fingers and pry it out - and only if you apply much force because all is so tight in there. No fan. This will be a problem if you have a 3.5" and 2.5" in because the bay is very tight inside and has few openings to allow passive air circulation

Additional Comments:

dont even hope to get your 2.5" drive out as inteded - it will not work. So it is more or less stationary which makes this whole bay rather useless.
Tuesday, November 04, 2014
By: gogmdigm
From: Elk Point

Handy unit better then the alternative

Strengths:

switch for each drive alternative has one switch for both drives easy changing of drives easy switch of system drive for grandkids no problems yet happy at price range

Weaknesses:

necessary to adjust interior metal for easy insertion of 3.5 drive
Sunday, October 26, 2014
By: TheAncient
From: Calgary

Don't plan on removing your drives frequently

Strengths:

Allows you to cram 2 drives (1 HDD plus 1 SSD) into one bay

Weaknesses:

Eject mechanism useless

Additional Comments:

Procedure for removing drives from this bay: 1. Open case 2. unplug drive bay and remove from case 3. pry hard drive out of bay 4. pry ssd drive out of bay If this sounds like too much trouble, you might be better off looking for a different bay. In my case, the most important feature was, to be able to cram 2 drives into the space of one bay and that feature works. If I was planning to actually remove the drives on a regular basis (eg. for offsite storage) this device would be unacceptable.
Friday, October 17, 2014
By: Ike
From: Sherwood Park

check "version" before you buy

Strengths:

First experience was great -- separate power switch for each drive in a multi-boot-drive environment makes it easier to isolate drives w/o wearing out their connectors

Weaknesses:

"optimistically" purchased a second unit -- this one is a different hardware version (or the builder was on a bad day!) -- some 3 1/2" drives catch on the thin tin guides inside and won't extract without some twisting and turning and that is always a worry when you don't know if maybe it's catching on the control board of the drive or some other critical/delicate component. SATA connectors are inverted -- if you have 90 deg ends you can't connect (usually m/b won't accept the 90s!)

Additional Comments:

Just open the box before you buy and ensure the SATA connectors have the little tip pointing outwards from the jacks such that two 90 degree connectors will work or you'll be buying a new set of cables too (you can buy straight connector cables, but then you may be getting a "build" that jams the drives as well!)
Thursday, March 27, 2014
By: Jim Z
From: Edmonton

Average: Eject features are mechanically flawed.

Strengths:

SATA 6GB support Supports 2 drives

Weaknesses:

Both eject buttons are useless. You have to pull the drives out with your hand or thumbs while holding or leveraging against the case. The red SATA connector for the 2.5" drive on the unit itself was too long, twisted and not installed properly at the factory. When inserting or removing a 3.5" drive it rubs against the bottom of it and wears out the little red 2.5" connector cable.

Additional Comments:

There is no fan installed though it is indicated on the box. The eject arm for the 2.5" drive does nothing but gets stuck on top of and behind the drive itself. The unit may loosen up over time and drives slide out easily but I'm not keeping it to find out. Drive docks have sleds for a reason. This unit it one of them. I had something similar to this back in 1995 and it did not work well back then either.
Friday, January 31, 2014
By: Dan
From: Calgary

Great product

Strengths:

easy to install, easy to use, well made solid unit, 6GB/s sata 3 transfers

Weaknesses:

no dedicated cooling - but not a problem for transferring data.
Friday, June 14, 2013
By: Hadron
From: Edmonton

right tool for the right job

Strengths:

-6 Gbit/s -no hard drive volume limit (as of yet) -plug and play -both 3.5 and 2.5 docking capability -hasn't killed any computers or hard drives yet

Weaknesses:

-no locks -no cooling fans -not free

Additional Comments:

Waited forever before this item abandoned the state of special order, and don't regret the wait. Plugged this into my server, and it has made file transfers and backups a whole lot faster. Simply put, this is the kind of addition a server almost needs to work ideally. Before this thing came along, I could be waiting an entire week for file transfers to complete. Other docks possibly work as well or better, but this one is convenient with the built in 2.5 dock as well.
Friday, March 22, 2013
By: Robert M. Sitter
From: Edmonton, Alberta, CANADA

Just what I needed

Strengths:

Good design, good performance, 5 minutes to install

Weaknesses:

Nothing

Additional Comments:

What else could I say other than This is perfect. Just what I need. There is absolutely nothing negative to say about this product.