Western Digital Red 3TB NAS Desktop Hard Drive, SATA III w/ 64MB Cache

MX40404 Red 3TB NAS Desktop Hard Drive, SATA III w/ 64MB Cache
MX40404 Red 3TB NAS Desktop Hard Drive, SATA III w/ 64MB Cache

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 30 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission

Average at best

Submitted on Sunday, June 09, 2013
By Matt
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Large, reasonable price, "RED" seems more awesome than "GREEN" but not as cool as "BLACK". + for memex, the 2 of the 7 I've sourced from MemEx have been fine.

Weaknesses of the product

At best these are reasonably AVERAGE drives. If you have the money buy 2x the number you actually want and put them in a RAID 10 arrangement as I guarantee you will lose a few drives. I've had seven drives (ordered from different sources, two came from MemEx): 1x DOA, 1x Bad Block MANIA and brought my raid down (thank the lord for not using RAID 0?).

Additional Comments

At best these are reasonable in quality. I should have stuck with the Hitachis and remembered how HORRIBLE WD really is. If WD made weapons and you were staring down the barrel of one, don't frett, you have a better than average chance of the bullet either never leaving the gun or failing before it reached you. Buy a different brand.

Fantastic Drives

Submitted on Wednesday, May 29, 2013
By Dallas H
From Morinville AB

Strengths of the product

- Great performance - 5 year warranty from manufacturer - 3TB of space. idk what else to put here

Weaknesses of the product

- price is a wee bit steep

Additional Comments

Bought 5x 3TB Red drives and threw em in a FreeNAS box with 16GB of ram and a core I5. Currently have dual hard drive duplication so it can handle a failure of two drives. total space is roughly 8TB. lots to store backups / movies and games. Read speeds are an average of about 100-115MB/s that is about the max throughput of the 1Gbit connection that i have it on. haven't had a chance to test with two NICS. Write speeds around 60-80MB/s. overall great performance.

So Far So Good

Submitted on Saturday, May 25, 2013
By Chad
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

- One of the better warranties out there right now for consumer hard drives. - Quiet. - Power efficient compared to a higher-RPM drive.

Weaknesses of the product

- A bit more expensive than a "Green" drive.

Additional Comments

Got 2 of these about 3 weeks ago. I'm still within the infant mortality portion of its lifespan, but almost through the part of it where most of the failures usually occur for consumer drives (first month), and so far so good. If you can make it past infant mortality stage with a hard drive (I would say the first 3 months of operation), chances are good that the drive will last you past its warranty. If it fails within 3 months, that's what the warranty is for. IPR even better.

Reasonable Drive w/ good value

Submitted on Sunday, May 05, 2013
By Matt
From Clagary

Strengths of the product

• Reasonably stable drive • Once you have good drives they're reliable • Acceptable temperature • Above average warranty. For a home NAS drive these are considerably better than buying bargin basement drives like GREEN or one of the other options for a device that is on 24x7. They're cheaper than the offerings in the same realm from Seagate or Toshiba/Hitachi and maybe we pay for that with slightly higher failure rates.

Weaknesses of the product

They do have a surprisingly high failure rate. Of 6 drives, I ran each through a dedicated badblocks test before attempting to build my array off an Adaptec SAS controller. I tested them all save one. Just so happens that during raid clearing (process where the raid array is created and drives are verified) that one drive failed. Once replaced the array is stable and about half has been filled from another array on the same controller at an average of 65MB/s (raid 5 if anyone cares).

Additional Comments

Advice: test your drives *immediately* once you get home. It can take a long time to scan 3tb of sectors and you want to be sure you identify the issue within your standard week replacement timeframe from MemEx. Otherwise, good drive just expect a failure, far better to be surprised by not having one than the reverse.

Been great so far

Submitted on Sunday, May 05, 2013
By Dane
From Red Deer

Strengths of the product

Faster and cooler than my green drives Not a bad price good warranty Huge Capacity

Weaknesses of the product

None (so far)

Additional Comments

I have 5 3 TB Reds working with 7 2TB greens (which have all been running for at least 2 years for the newest green 24*7) with no problems. However I have only been running the reds for about 3 months so only time will tell. At least I have not ran into the fail off the hop that others have reported.

Click of Death

Submitted on Wednesday, April 10, 2013
By Greg
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Got a good price

Weaknesses of the product

Adding my name to the huge failure rate of these things

Additional Comments

I had high hopes for these drives. I bought one from ME with my Synology box. However, tonight the drive started clicking and the synology box became unresponsive. On a restart I had no access to synology box, drive was ticking and status light showed that the drive had failed. Guess I'm taking it back tomorrow. Lasted a couple of months with VERY little use so far.

So far so good...

Submitted on Thursday, March 21, 2013
By Joey
From Mississauga

Strengths of the product

-quiet -NAS built

Weaknesses of the product

-none yet, although seems to suffer from drive faults

Additional Comments

Installed nicely in my new Synology NAS, super quiet operation and drive scan completed with no faults. Its been running for about a week now with no problems.

Sort of reliable I suppose

Submitted on Monday, February 25, 2013
By Aaron
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Decent Speed Low Noise Built for 24/7 service(to be seen)

Weaknesses of the product

Like other reviewer was saying about the problems i bought 4 of these to be used in a Synology DS412+ and within 5 days started showing read/write errors and at about 7 days it failed daily smart check. Returned and so far two months in they are all working(cross fingers)

Additional Comments

Good if you can get for a decent price but i would not recommend paying full price. Would probably go for seagate 7200rpm drives as i've had much more lucky running them in various NAS and raid applications.

Quality not consistent

Submitted on Monday, February 25, 2013
By Rob
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Competitively priced. Marketed as NAS ready.

Weaknesses of the product

I ordered two from M.E. and two from another supplier to install in a QNAP 419P II. One drive from each supplier has failed. The first was DOA and when installed, kept the QNAP from even initializing. The second failed a day later with Read/Write errors. I spent considerable time troubleshooting but did not think the problem could be the drives since they were factory fresh. First time I ever had drives die so soon after purchase.

Additional Comments

Two of 4 drives were no good. No problems getting replacements. Hurray for M.E.! Replacements are back in QNAP and the RAID is doing what it should, "Restoration-in-progress." Hopefully these WD Red drives will function well once they pass the initial "smoke test".

Nice So Far

Submitted on Thursday, January 17, 2013
By santadevil
From Saskatchewan

Strengths of the product

I ordered 2 of these from Memory Express (darn order limits), price matched with a competitor, along with a Synology DS 1512+. Set up the DS 1512+ last night and the drives were working, but still going through the parity check today.

Weaknesses of the product

So far, nothing wrong with the drives themselves. Had limited the price match to 2 per customer. Luckily was able to price match elsewhere. Packaging by Memory Express had me a little concerned, as these drives were only bubble wrapped (twice over at least), but put against the outside each of the shipping box, even though they could have been protected in the middle of the box.

Additional Comments

Along with the two of these drives, I ordered 3 more from a competitor, which also price matches for all three. I received my shipment earlier this week and was able to set up the DS 1512+ last night. So far, all 5 hard drives are working in the NAS. I'm very happy with this order. Overall, 5/5 with the drives working. Hopefully they will continue to plug along.