Western Digital Red Plus 3TB NAS Desktop Hard Drive, SATA III w/ 64MB Cache

MX40404 Red Plus 3TB NAS Desktop Hard Drive, SATA III w/ 64MB Cache
MX40404 Red Plus 3TB NAS Desktop Hard Drive, SATA III w/ 64MB Cache MX40404 Red Plus 3TB NAS Desktop Hard Drive, SATA III w/ 64MB Cache

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: 3.8 / 5 With 30 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
Sunday, August 16, 2015
By: Stephen A.
From: Calgary

Solid...so far

Strengths:

-Price (when on sale) -NAS specific -WD name

Weaknesses:

-Price (when not on sale) -Warranty (5 year is for the "Pro" version, not these which have only 3 years)

Additional Comments:

I have had Green drives running in a Drobo FS NAS for almost 5 years without any failure. I just got a Synology DS1515+ NAS so figured I'd stick with WD and try out the new fangled Reds in that. I put in 3 and so far so good: no errors, quiet, good performance. Will get two more eventually to max the NAS bays out.
Tuesday, November 25, 2014
By: Mike
From: Calgary

Excellent NAS drive

Strengths:

Cool running Extra error correcting features High Capacity Decent price for a NAS rated drive

Weaknesses:

None so far.

Additional Comments:

I have herd others having issues with the WD red drives, Maybe this was with the first generation of these drives, but i've been using this 3tb version for the last 2 months without problems. They are spinning 24/7, have low power consumption and heat levels, plus the extra error correction features which really is what qualifies them as NAS drives over standard desktop versions. I currently use 2 of these 3TB drives in my ReadyNas duo V2 in Flex-raid JBOD.
Tuesday, October 21, 2014
By: jason s
From: lethbridge

no cable

Strengths:

should be good

Weaknesses:

did come with sata cable to hook up,, now I gota find one of them :(
Monday, August 18, 2014
By: Chad
From: Edmonton, AB

Not Bad

Strengths:

Still running 3 of these after a year and a half. That's half the warranty period! (Kind of sad that I see that as a "strength", but that/s the norm for spinning hard drives after buying them over the last 20 years.) I've made it past the infant mortality stage for 3 of the 4 drives that I have ... just bought the 4th about a week ago. So, they will probably be good till a day or two after the warranty expires :D Quiet! Can't hear them at all in my NAS (Synology 1812+). Runs cool!

Weaknesses:

A little pricey. Still waiting for drive proces to go back to their pre-tsunami levels. They probably will remain relatively steady where they are at right now, at least until falling SSD prices forces them to drop.

Additional Comments:

Runs cool and quiet, is a steady, solid performer (in my usage history of them), but price kind of kicks you in the teeth a little bit ... wait for them to go on sale, if you can. Get the IPR for them if you're worried about early failures ... 2 Yr IPR is my recommendation. That should get you past the infant mortality stage for peace of mind. Any IPR beyond that is probably a little bit more of a gamble (mind you, the extra $3 to go to 3Yr is only pennies a day.) Star off for price.
Tuesday, July 29, 2014
By: Ellis.Dee_25
From: Fort Saskatchewan

Five Drives, Two Years, Zero Problems

Strengths:

Fifteen TB in a Synology DS1512+. Working great for the last couple of years

Weaknesses:

None so far
Friday, May 23, 2014
By: Tom
From: Edmonton

Work fine

Strengths:

I've had one running in a NAS for a year now and it's working fine. I decided to the spread the risk and go with 1 WD drive and then later purchased a Seagate NAS drive. Neither drive has reported any errors. Then again I was using regular Hatachi drives before I bought these and those worked fine also.

Weaknesses:

None so far, but they aren't the fastest drives. Hopefully, they will make up for that in reliability.

Additional Comments:

The drives are in a two bay Netgear NAS and they are mirrored. I use the NAS to stream moves, store data files and store backup images. I bought the NAS drives just because they sound like a good idea. I think it will be a few years before we really start to see if they are any better in a NAS than a regular drive.
Saturday, February 15, 2014
By: Michael
From: Calgary

good while they last...

Strengths:

WD name Warranty

Weaknesses:

1 of 2 died in less than two weeks

Additional Comments:

so bought two of these "NAS" drives for my new QNAP 212 Nas Enclosure. set as RAID 1 so they mirror each other..appeared to be working well and was about to back up content to another drive and do these babies in RAID 0 for the 6TB of space. Well good thing I didn't as 1 died tonight (NAS sent an email, scanning for bad blocks now) the NAS did its job it fired me an email, and unmounted the bad drive. will wait to see the damage with the block scan...guess heading to get a replacement soon..
Wednesday, November 06, 2013
By: Jamie
From: Calgary NE

No complaints so far

Strengths:

Fairly quick drives, purchased 2x to put in a RAID-1 NAS - speeds are what you'd expect for this class of drive and enclosure, several months in they are still running strong with intermittent 'light' home use (dlna video/audio, and photography backup).

Weaknesses:

They were first installed in my computer tower and did get rather warm (approached 45C) when under 100% write load for a prolonged period (formatting), more a fault of the computer with limited ventilation. When properly cooled in the nas they are fine. Price/gb is a touch high when not on sale.

Additional Comments:

Robust drive with good warranty. Not gonna set any speed records but it's hard to beat.
Saturday, November 02, 2013
By: Theresa
From: Winnipeg

3TB Red SATA III w/ 64MB Cache

Strengths:

Affordable for the average home user

Weaknesses:

Having been using these drives for media with XBMC for almost a year on an average sized media dedicated computer. With the frequent updating that XBMC does, it has fried the registry on one of my drives causing some angst. Drives probably preform well but lesson learned - turn XBMC off when not using since sick beard not working well anyway. Why can't it all just get along?

Additional Comments:

Will continue to purchase these but manage them in a different fashion to prolong their life.
Saturday, October 19, 2013
By: Marty
From: Toronto

1 year, 5 drives - no problems

Strengths:

They work, first time out of box and have been running non-stop for a year.

Weaknesses:

none seen

Additional Comments:

I put 5 of these in a Synology +1542 box, and no issues. Any delay I see I can attribute to the either by wireless, the Synology interface, or my media box. I see it is time to grab one hot spare in the unlikely event of a failure.