Welcome Guest
Announcements:
4
0 items ($0.00) in your cart
  • MX40404 Red 3TB NAS Desktop Hard Drive, SATA III w/ 64MB Cache

Red 3TB NAS Desktop Hard Drive, SATA III w/ 64MB Cache

From 28 Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 28 Customer Reviews

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
All Reviews are screened for appropriate content and therefore may take 3-4 business days before displayed on our site.

Your review has been submitted successfully

Before your review is posted on our site it must first be approved by one of our editors, this usually takes 3-4 business days.

Post A Review

Failed again

9/3/2017 9:03:27 AM
Jimbojones from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
Ok price for the capacity and alleged 'better' durability
Weaknesses:
'better' durability is a joke. If the RED's are this bad, hate to see how quickly the run-of the-mill desktop versions last.
Summary:
Had to buy a 3rd drive since I already owned 2x like it in my NAS. Lasted 2 yrs and now I'm getting 'unrecoverable sector' errors. Yes there is warranty...but these drives should work flawlessly for 3-5 yrs under moderate use...and these were in a 2-person NAS that only acts as an archive/not streaming. Very disappointed considering that there were failures on the first drives also.

Great Product

8/22/2017 8:31:38 PM
Roy from Winnipeg writes:
Strengths:
Good Price with good Performance.
Weaknesses:
Could be Cheaper, But Ehh...
Summary:
I have run the WD Red 3 TB drives since 2009. None of the 12 I own have failed and they are used frequently. Go WD RED Go.

haven't lost one yet

2/25/2017 4:19:07 AM
Leland from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
TLER support (works with enterprise RAID controllers) Reliable like no other drive i have ever seen in the last 15 years Performance is excellent for a SATA disk (~140 - 150MB/s with on-disk cache) Price is consistent across the model family (~$50/TB)
Weaknesses:
Totally Subjective, but IntelliPower leaves a little to be desired if running in an array without WriteBack cache, the ramp-up time causes some latency for short writes. typical W/T performance ramps up after a few seconds (cumbersome when the Db server RAID controller battery fails ;) - but this is by no means WDs fault). I would prefer a realtime 7,200RPM IMHO.
Summary:
All in all, I have to say that I have been very impressed by the overall performance, value and reliability of these things. The first dozen of these I purchased were more of a test to see if these could take the place of 10/15K SAS drives in a large data array. Not only was the capacity requirement achieved with 1/4 of the spindle count, but also 1/4 the price. with over 60 of the 3TB 3.5" and 1TB 2.5" in front-line service for 3+ years. I have had ZERO failures or and only 1 NRRE logged.

constantly fails

1/22/2017 6:25:48 PM
larry from edmonton writes:
Strengths:
Decent price, its not cheap either not sure if it has a strength.
Weaknesses:
Constantly fails in my NAS, i have 4 of th3se they go through my NAS like bullets through a Gatling Gun.
Summary:
Dont buy it, save yourself the headache and time wasting.

Great reliable fast

11/16/2016 10:37:13 AM
Tyler from Edmonton writes:
Strengths:
I use this in a desktop pc. The drive is fast and reliable so far
Weaknesses:
Head ticking is noticeably louder than other drives but still fine for me
Summary:

3 Years Running

10/5/2016 7:59:48 AM
Shane from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
Mine has been in a NAS for 3 years now and powered on for nearly that entire time. No issues at all with the drive.
Weaknesses:
Be sure that if you are using an older NAS enclosure that it supports 3TB drives. My Dlink DNS323 could not partition the drive without a custom firmware. This is not a problem with the drive but a general warning to make sure that the hardware and software you are using with it can support large HDD sizes.
Summary:
This drive has been a reliable workhorse for me. It is nearly full these days so I am looking to pair it with another in the near future. Rarely have had problems with WD drives.

3 in use for over 2.5 years.

5/25/2016 11:23:25 AM
Brian M from Winnipeg writes:
Strengths:
No failures so far after a late 2013 install, good speed.
Weaknesses:
Summary:
Before installing ran about a days worth of "burn-in" tests to make sure the drives were fully functional - all 3 of the WD's passed. In total 6 drives with 2 drive redundancy in the FreeNAS box. They have been running 24/7 since installing with no errors so far (SMART check/test does run daily)

Why did I buy WD again?!?

5/6/2016 7:55:38 AM
Jimbojones from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
Ok performance
Weaknesses:
Failed 1 month after M.E. warranty and only saw periodic usage. Very disappointed....paid extra for a 'better' quality drive and turns out to be just as bad as the plain-jane WD's. Paying more for the 'Pro' version is just another way to gouge customers to pay more $ for the drive they should have gotten in the first place.
Summary:

Solid...so far

8/16/2015 5:19:05 PM
Stephen A. from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
-Price (when on sale) -NAS specific -WD name
Weaknesses:
-Price (when not on sale) -Warranty (5 year is for the "Pro" version, not these which have only 3 years)
Summary:
I have had Green drives running in a Drobo FS NAS for almost 5 years without any failure. I just got a Synology DS1515+ NAS so figured I'd stick with WD and try out the new fangled Reds in that. I put in 3 and so far so good: no errors, quiet, good performance. Will get two more eventually to max the NAS bays out.

Excellent NAS drive

11/25/2014 5:41:58 PM
Mike from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
Cool running Extra error correcting features High Capacity Decent price for a NAS rated drive
Weaknesses:
None so far.
Summary:
I have herd others having issues with the WD red drives, Maybe this was with the first generation of these drives, but i've been using this 3tb version for the last 2 months without problems. They are spinning 24/7, have low power consumption and heat levels, plus the extra error correction features which really is what qualifies them as NAS drives over standard desktop versions. I currently use 2 of these 3TB drives in my ReadyNas duo V2 in Flex-raid JBOD.