Western Digital Red Plus 3TB NAS Desktop Hard Drive, SATA III w/ 64MB Cache

MX40404 Red Plus 3TB NAS Desktop Hard Drive, SATA III w/ 64MB Cache
MX40404 Red Plus 3TB NAS Desktop Hard Drive, SATA III w/ 64MB Cache MX40404 Red Plus 3TB NAS Desktop Hard Drive, SATA III w/ 64MB Cache

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: 3.8 / 5 With 30 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
Friday, March 27, 2020
By: Jimi
From: Saskatoon

4 in use for 7 years

Strengths:

Reliable, durable, decent price

Weaknesses:

Haven't found one yet

Additional Comments:

I have had 4x 3TB WD Reds in my multimedia NAS running with minimal down time (being on a UPS) for just shy of 7 years and have had no issues with them. I used to be a Seagate fan. My first drive 15 years ago is still running. However, every single Seagate I bought after that one failed, ALL OF THEM. I started buying WD Blacks to replace my Seagates and finally after 10 years I had my first failure just this past fall and it was my very first WD Black that died and it may have been my own fault to boot (possible shock damage while my external caddy was in transit). I never got more than 2 years out of a Seagate drive and I never bought the same model twice. WDs have been rock solid for me. I have a tower jammed with 6 of them and a NAS with 4 more and I will be replacing an NVR drive with a WD purple right away. I have been tempting fate by not having replacement reds on hand for my NAS which I will be rectifying asap. Could be my luck, hard to say, but I have nothing but love for WD and I will fly their banner with pride.
Thursday, April 05, 2018
By: Mike
From: Edmonton

Stay away

Strengths:

None

Weaknesses:

Constantly fails.

Additional Comments:

Built a new FreeNas system with 6 of these drives in it. Took all the standard precautions such as buying from different suppliers, stress testing the system ect... Within 6 months lost a drive. Replaced it, and while my array was rebuilding, lost another drive, causing me to lose my whole array. It was a good thing, this was a server that I was using for hard backup of my other nas, which has 3TB Seagate Ironwolf drives in it. I have had that server 3 years and never lost a drive. STAY AWAY!
Sunday, September 03, 2017
By: Jimbojones
From: Calgary

Failed again

Strengths:

Ok price for the capacity and alleged 'better' durability

Weaknesses:

'better' durability is a joke. If the RED's are this bad, hate to see how quickly the run-of the-mill desktop versions last.

Additional Comments:

Had to buy a 3rd drive since I already owned 2x like it in my NAS. Lasted 2 yrs and now I'm getting 'unrecoverable sector' errors. Yes there is warranty...but these drives should work flawlessly for 3-5 yrs under moderate use...and these were in a 2-person NAS that only acts as an archive/not streaming. Very disappointed considering that there were failures on the first drives also.
Tuesday, August 22, 2017
By: Roy
From: Winnipeg

Great Product

Strengths:

Good Price with good Performance.

Weaknesses:

Could be Cheaper, But Ehh...

Additional Comments:

I have run the WD Red 3 TB drives since 2009. None of the 12 I own have failed and they are used frequently. Go WD RED Go.
Saturday, February 25, 2017
By: Leland
From: Calgary

haven't lost one yet

Strengths:

TLER support (works with enterprise RAID controllers) Reliable like no other drive i have ever seen in the last 15 years Performance is excellent for a SATA disk (~140 - 150MB/s with on-disk cache) Price is consistent across the model family (~$50/TB)

Weaknesses:

Totally Subjective, but IntelliPower leaves a little to be desired if running in an array without WriteBack cache, the ramp-up time causes some latency for short writes. typical W/T performance ramps up after a few seconds (cumbersome when the Db server RAID controller battery fails ;) - but this is by no means WDs fault). I would prefer a realtime 7,200RPM IMHO.

Additional Comments:

All in all, I have to say that I have been very impressed by the overall performance, value and reliability of these things. The first dozen of these I purchased were more of a test to see if these could take the place of 10/15K SAS drives in a large data array. Not only was the capacity requirement achieved with 1/4 of the spindle count, but also 1/4 the price. with over 60 of the 3TB 3.5" and 1TB 2.5" in front-line service for 3+ years. I have had ZERO failures or and only 1 NRRE logged.
Sunday, January 22, 2017
By: larry
From: edmonton

constantly fails

Strengths:

Decent price, its not cheap either not sure if it has a strength.

Weaknesses:

Constantly fails in my NAS, i have 4 of th3se they go through my NAS like bullets through a Gatling Gun.

Additional Comments:

Dont buy it, save yourself the headache and time wasting.
Wednesday, November 16, 2016
By: Tyler
From: Edmonton

Great reliable fast

Strengths:

I use this in a desktop pc. The drive is fast and reliable so far

Weaknesses:

Head ticking is noticeably louder than other drives but still fine for me
Wednesday, October 05, 2016
By: Shane
From: Calgary

3 Years Running

Strengths:

Mine has been in a NAS for 3 years now and powered on for nearly that entire time. No issues at all with the drive.

Weaknesses:

Be sure that if you are using an older NAS enclosure that it supports 3TB drives. My Dlink DNS323 could not partition the drive without a custom firmware. This is not a problem with the drive but a general warning to make sure that the hardware and software you are using with it can support large HDD sizes.

Additional Comments:

This drive has been a reliable workhorse for me. It is nearly full these days so I am looking to pair it with another in the near future. Rarely have had problems with WD drives.
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
By: Brian M
From: Winnipeg

3 in use for over 2.5 years.

Strengths:

No failures so far after a late 2013 install, good speed.

Additional Comments:

Before installing ran about a days worth of "burn-in" tests to make sure the drives were fully functional - all 3 of the WD's passed. In total 6 drives with 2 drive redundancy in the FreeNAS box. They have been running 24/7 since installing with no errors so far (SMART check/test does run daily)
Friday, May 06, 2016
By: Jimbojones
From: Calgary

Why did I buy WD again?!?

Strengths:

Ok performance

Weaknesses:

Failed 1 month after M.E. warranty and only saw periodic usage. Very disappointed....paid extra for a 'better' quality drive and turns out to be just as bad as the plain-jane WD's. Paying more for the 'Pro' version is just another way to gouge customers to pay more $ for the drive they should have gotten in the first place.