Asus Xonar DGX PCI-E 5.1 Gaming Audio Card w/ Headphone Amp

MX40246 Xonar DGX PCI-E 5.1 Gaming Audio Card w/ Headphone Amp
MX40246 Xonar DGX PCI-E 5.1 Gaming Audio Card w/ Headphone Amp MX40246 Xonar DGX PCI-E 5.1 Gaming Audio Card w/ Headphone Amp MX40246 Xonar DGX PCI-E 5.1 Gaming Audio Card w/ Headphone Amp

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 12 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission

Increases output a bit, picks up PC noise from video card

Submitted on Wednesday, June 20, 2018
By Sean
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

A little more "oomph" than your typical motherboard audio output.

Weaknesses of the product

Picks up coil whine from some video cards. No specs for MW output for each ohm range like other headphone amps will inform purchasers of, making it difficult to ascertain whether it's enough output before purchasing. The software is a little bloated. Software equalizer introduces distortion. Replaceable op-amps is a gimmick because they don't make much of a difference since today's op-amps are pretty good.

Additional Comments

You may be better off spending your money on a Topping A30 or similar headphone amp if you're driving 1-2W headphones like the Fostex T50 or the AKG K7XX. Probably enough for Sennheiser HD600 but not HD650.

Works in Windows 10

Submitted on Tuesday, September 19, 2017
By Riley
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Works just fine in Windows 10 if your onboard audio dies

Weaknesses of the product

No HDMI output...

Additional Comments

Works with Windows 10 if your on board dies

Great sound

Submitted on Thursday, March 24, 2016
By Riley
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

The card is easy to install and get running and it sounds amazing.

Weaknesses of the product

The drivers included are only for Windows 7, Vista and XP.

Additional Comments

Overall, a great sound card for its value. Its amazing, I would recommend this card to anyone.

WARNING: Not Compatible with Windows 7

Submitted on Thursday, May 08, 2014
By HyperLight Research
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Amazing hardware

Weaknesses of the product

Bad drivers cripple the card

Additional Comments

In late 2013 Microsoft changed the sound driver architecture in Windows 7, and as of 2014 ASUS still hasn't fixed the drivers for ANY of their Xonar cards. This causes the card to output sound at 8KHz with *massive* compression artifacts, no matter what the settings. It sounds like a bad Skype call. Stay FAR away from this card and ALL Xonar cards by ASUS. Google "Asus Xonar Stutter" for more info.

Good value for the money.

Submitted on Monday, April 21, 2014
By Gab D
From Winnipeg, MB

Strengths of the product

Coming from on-board audio solution in my Asus Maximus VI Hero, this sound card really made my headphones alive (Brainwavz HM3). I got it for $25 w/ $10 mail-in-rebate.

Weaknesses of the product

Nothing. Just download Xonar Unified Drivers instead of getting the software from Asus website.

Additional Comments

Will try a professional grade open cans in the near future to see how this card is capable of. Overall, this card is a great value for its low price.

Great Value~Major difference from onboard audio

Submitted on Saturday, March 02, 2013
By Andrew
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

A big improvement over the on board audio I was using. The built in amp is awesome if you're a big headphone user both my AKG K 702 and Senn HD 439 sound great. For 50 bucks this sound card is a steal and is just awesome compared to the typical on board audio.

Weaknesses of the product

My only complaint is the drivers made by asus is kinda crap imo, but there are some unified Asus xonar drivers which fixes some problems that were on the Asus drivers https://brainbit.wordpress.com/2010/07/19/asus-xonar-unified-drivers/

Additional Comments

Don't listen to inexperienced users

Submitted on Thursday, January 24, 2013
By Pavlo
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Crystal clear sound No static HD Audio front panel support 24bit and 96k sampling rate

Weaknesses of the product

None

Additional Comments

Those people who say that front panel headpone jack is not amped are wrong. They probably didn't not configure their detection mode or used the wrong settings.

Great sound card for the money

Submitted on Saturday, January 12, 2013
By Lee Langley
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Got this card for my gaming,found no problems with it at all - good value for what you pay

Weaknesses of the product

Manual that comes with the card could have been more informative, but a bit of searching and finding out how to set up card properly,everything else was good. So no weaknesses as far as i see with this card.

Additional Comments

If you want an expensive audio card with all the bells and whistles then go pay expensive prices for one. This card is not expensive and great value for your money,the front panel for my headphones works just fine (running windows 7 64 bit) . would recommend this card for anyone looking to upgrade from onboard sound anytime,sound is clear and sharp.

Great for big headphones

Submitted on Saturday, January 05, 2013
By Sean E
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Strong headphone amp built in. Takes a pcie port.

Weaknesses of the product

Software keeps reverting to original settings at each boot.

Additional Comments

The sound response is clean and crisp from these headphones due to the strong headphone amp. The software keeps reverting to the original settings at every boot requiring me to re-select the rear headphone output every time I start the computer.

Awesome if not using front panel

Submitted on Sunday, September 09, 2012
By Greg
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

- way better than on-board solution if plugged directly into card, sounds are much more clear and crisp - good value, not overly expensive

Weaknesses of the product

- front panel headphone volume significantly lower than plugging straight into card

Additional Comments

Maybe I have missed something, but it seems as though when you are plugged into the front panel with headphones the volume is significantly lower than if plugged straight into card. (plugged directly to card the volume is make-your-ears-bleed loud, and crystal clear). If you will be plugging your headphones or audio device directly into the card then I would absolutely recommend this card, BUT, if you were planning on using your front panel audio connector for your headphones, then buyer beware!