Welcome Guest
Announcements:
4
0 items ($0.00) in your cart
  • MX40246 Xonar DGX PCI-E 5.1 Gaming Audio Card w/ Headphone Amp
  • MX40246 Xonar DGX PCI-E 5.1 Gaming Audio Card w/ Headphone Amp
  • MX40246 Xonar DGX PCI-E 5.1 Gaming Audio Card w/ Headphone Amp

Xonar DGX PCI-E 5.1 Gaming Audio Card w/ Headphone Amp

From 11 Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 11 Customer Reviews

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
All Reviews are screened for appropriate content and therefore may take 3-4 business days before displayed on our site.

Your review has been submitted successfully

Before your review is posted on our site it must first be approved by one of our editors, this usually takes 3-4 business days.

Post A Review

Works in Windows 10

9/19/2017 9:19:56 AM
Riley from Edmonton writes:
Strengths:
Works just fine in Windows 10 if your onboard audio dies
Weaknesses:
No HDMI output...
Summary:
Works with Windows 10 if your on board dies

Great sound

3/24/2016 3:24:21 PM
Riley from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
The card is easy to install and get running and it sounds amazing.
Weaknesses:
The drivers included are only for Windows 7, Vista and XP.
Summary:
Overall, a great sound card for its value. Its amazing, I would recommend this card to anyone.

WARNING: Not Compatible with Windows 7

5/8/2014 9:14:58 AM
HyperLight Research from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
Amazing hardware
Weaknesses:
Bad drivers cripple the card
Summary:
In late 2013 Microsoft changed the sound driver architecture in Windows 7, and as of 2014 ASUS still hasn't fixed the drivers for ANY of their Xonar cards. This causes the card to output sound at 8KHz with *massive* compression artifacts, no matter what the settings. It sounds like a bad Skype call. Stay FAR away from this card and ALL Xonar cards by ASUS. Google "Asus Xonar Stutter" for more info.

Good value for the money.

4/21/2014 10:34:04 PM
Gab D from Winnipeg, MB writes:
Strengths:
Coming from on-board audio solution in my Asus Maximus VI Hero, this sound card really made my headphones alive (Brainwavz HM3). I got it for $25 w/ $10 mail-in-rebate.
Weaknesses:
Nothing. Just download Xonar Unified Drivers instead of getting the software from Asus website.
Summary:
Will try a professional grade open cans in the near future to see how this card is capable of. Overall, this card is a great value for its low price.

Great Value~Major difference from onboard audio

3/2/2013 6:05:46 PM
Andrew from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
A big improvement over the on board audio I was using. The built in amp is awesome if you're a big headphone user both my AKG K 702 and Senn HD 439 sound great. For 50 bucks this sound card is a steal and is just awesome compared to the typical on board audio.
Weaknesses:
My only complaint is the drivers made by asus is kinda crap imo, but there are some unified Asus xonar drivers which fixes some problems that were on the Asus drivers https://brainbit.wordpress.com/2010/07/19/asus-xonar-unified-drivers/
Summary:

Don't listen to inexperienced users

1/24/2013 11:17:24 PM
Pavlo from Edmonton writes:
Strengths:
Crystal clear sound No static HD Audio front panel support 24bit and 96k sampling rate
Weaknesses:
None
Summary:
Those people who say that front panel headpone jack is not amped are wrong. They probably didn't not configure their detection mode or used the wrong settings.

Great sound card for the money

1/12/2013 5:08:31 PM
Lee Langley from Edmonton writes:
Strengths:
Got this card for my gaming,found no problems with it at all - good value for what you pay
Weaknesses:
Manual that comes with the card could have been more informative, but a bit of searching and finding out how to set up card properly,everything else was good. So no weaknesses as far as i see with this card.
Summary:
If you want an expensive audio card with all the bells and whistles then go pay expensive prices for one. This card is not expensive and great value for your money,the front panel for my headphones works just fine (running windows 7 64 bit) . would recommend this card for anyone looking to upgrade from onboard sound anytime,sound is clear and sharp.

Great for big headphones

1/5/2013 12:00:50 PM
Sean E from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
Strong headphone amp built in. Takes a pcie port.
Weaknesses:
Software keeps reverting to original settings at each boot.
Summary:
The sound response is clean and crisp from these headphones due to the strong headphone amp. The software keeps reverting to the original settings at every boot requiring me to re-select the rear headphone output every time I start the computer.

Awesome if not using front panel

9/9/2012 2:43:50 PM
Greg from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
- way better than on-board solution if plugged directly into card, sounds are much more clear and crisp - good value, not overly expensive
Weaknesses:
- front panel headphone volume significantly lower than plugging straight into card
Summary:
Maybe I have missed something, but it seems as though when you are plugged into the front panel with headphones the volume is significantly lower than if plugged straight into card. (plugged directly to card the volume is make-your-ears-bleed loud, and crystal clear). If you will be plugging your headphones or audio device directly into the card then I would absolutely recommend this card, BUT, if you were planning on using your front panel audio connector for your headphones, then buyer beware!

Incredible Value

8/20/2012 6:04:14 PM
Andrew from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
I went out to buy this sound card because my Realtek HD 892 kept on making a buzzing noise whenever my cpu usage went above 30%. I didn't expect to see much sound improvement aside from the better sound to noise ratio since I "thought" my Realtek sounded clear enough already... Boy was I wrong, because when I plugged this sound card into my headphone amp I noticed that the treble and bass was A LOT more pronounced.
Weaknesses:
Unfortunately, due to how the circuitry works with this pci-e version of the Xonar DG, the front panel will be unamp'ed, so you will get really really low volume throughput at the front. I recommend you buy some sort of extension cable to reach the back if you intend on connecting your headphone directly to the rear.
Summary:
I'm using Shure 750dj and they take quite a bit of power to drive the bass, but it posed no problem for the sound card if you set the amp mode to "Exciter". Also it's worth mentioning that the Dolby Surround emulation is indeed high quality--- Obviously you'll get a more muffled sound, but the sound stage it provides is INCREDIBLY accurate (you can find out more about it on other review sites). Overall, great bang for your buck.