Vantec NexStar MX Dual 3.5in External Hard Drive

MX40154 NexStar MX Dual 3.5in External Hard Drive
MX40154 NexStar MX Dual 3.5in External Hard Drive MX40154 NexStar MX Dual 3.5in External Hard Drive MX40154 NexStar MX Dual 3.5in External Hard Drive MX40154 NexStar MX Dual 3.5in External Hard Drive

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 12 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission

Works Well, Aside From Large Transfers

Submitted on Tuesday, March 24, 2020
By Ben
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Affordable RAID implementation.

Weaknesses of the product

Does not handle large transfers well (> 1 TB). It locks up partway through, requiring a power cycle.

Additional Comments

I've had this enclosure for several years and it works well on a day-to-day basis. I use it to provide hard drive redundancy (via RAID 1) for my media collection, which I am frequently reading and sometimes writing. It actually just saved my butt, as one of my drives failed but I was still able to access all of my data due on the redundant drive. However, as I'm copying 4 TB worth of data from the surviving drive onto the new drives I've put into the enclosure, I'm reminded of a problem I had with it in the first place. It does not do well with large data transfers. At the 1 TB mark, the drive totally locked up and I had to power cycle it before I could continue. If not for this problem, I would give it 5 stars. However, for myself, this large of transfer is a rare occurrence so it is only slightly annoying.

Sucks

Submitted on Friday, February 07, 2020
By Mike
From Okotoks, AB

Strengths of the product

Nice form factor, solid.

Weaknesses of the product

Disconnects and corrupts drives. Not dependable at all. A waste of money.

Additional Comments

I was having issues, then got a TimeMachine drive for backups. When I stopped using this enclosure, the problems went away. Recently put it back online again, and all the disconnects and corruption started again. My drives won't even boot now.

Vantec NexStar MX Dual 3.5in External Hard Drive

Submitted on Wednesday, October 17, 2018
By Jr
From Yukon

Strengths of the product

Price Feels Solid

Weaknesses of the product

Fails to Boot Up have to play with the Power Switch to get it to start every time

Additional Comments

Save your money buy a better unit Feels like it will totaly fail in short order with having to play with the power switch every time starting up the unit

Not worth it.

Submitted on Sunday, May 06, 2018
By Tom
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Its cheap, feels nice and solid, all metal build.

Weaknesses of the product

After about 18 months it stopped working. It wasn't a heavy use item, it was an off site backup of photos and media. So every couple of weeks it would have been used to do backups of my machine, then sat in storage (clean dry in a air tight bag). This last time bringing it home it was dead. Drives spin up then after 2 seconds spin down and is inactive.

Additional Comments

Not worth it, even as a backup of a backup. Ive got G-tech drives for all my other things, Im replacing this with another G-tech. Bye Bye NexStar...

Hit and miss

Submitted on Saturday, January 13, 2018
By Stephen
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

When it works it's great. USB and eSata connections are useful. Lots of capacity with two drive slots.

Weaknesses of the product

Not necessarily all that reliable. Strikes me as pretty expensive for what it is.

Additional Comments

I have two of them. One still works great after a year. The other one failed within a year. Caveat emptor.

3 years Still working

Submitted on Tuesday, August 08, 2017
By Darren
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Cheap solution for external redundant backup. RAID support. Nice look solid build.

Weaknesses of the product

Not a 100% stable rig, but for the price it's good enough. you will have to baby-sit it during backups but once the data is in there. bingo-bango

Additional Comments

Put 2 Seagate 1Tb 7200 Rpm archive drives in. Set up raid to clone the drives. Set up on OS X 10. something . mountain lion i think. still using drive with OS X Sierra with no issues besides the occasional disconnect. Never happened during transfer, just luck

Avoid at all costs

Submitted on Saturday, June 10, 2017
By Vince
From edmonton

Strengths of the product

Weaknesses of the product

it self-corrupted a raid-zero multiple times, switched to "individual drive mode" and the unit lasted for about 2 more months before it absolutely refused to mount ever again. The drives I added to it were brand new. I swapped power supplies to troubleshoot, it's not the power supply. This enclosure is garbage.

Additional Comments

DO NOT BUY!!!!!!!!!!

Submitted on Wednesday, January 18, 2017
By Thomas
From Vancouver

Strengths of the product

Looks great Runs great some of the time

Weaknesses of the product

Painfull sucks randomly disconnects

Additional Comments

DO NOT BUY, Randomly disconnects during important transfers, Write speed randomly bogs down to 200KB/s I should have read reviews elsewhere before buying this

Excellent product, does the job

Submitted on Thursday, January 12, 2017
By Michael
From Alberta

Strengths of the product

Solid Construction Easy to assemble / disassemble Works well with no issues

Weaknesses of the product

None that I can think of.

Additional Comments

This enclosure does the job. It's well built, is easy to take apart and install / remove drives and works the way it is supposed to. My only gripe is I wish it had more than 2 bays. I realized I'm a hard drive hoarder and I'm swapping drives quite often. But if you only need a space for 2 drives, this is a great machine.

Well Built

Submitted on Thursday, April 23, 2015
By Toor
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

These are well-built and I wish they built single enclosures like this. The eSATA and USB plugs are solid and not flimsy and recessed so the plugs go in tightly and securely. The harddrive trays slide into the enclosure smoothly and the drives slide on rails on the sides of the tray and plug into the PCB tightly and precisely. It also don't have any of the silly power wires for the enclosure LEDs that you have to plug/unplug into the PCB every time you slide the trays in/out.

Weaknesses of the product

The USB2/eSATA verions use a pass-through eSATA connection which was better. I think all Vantec USB3/eSATA drives use a different chipset where the eSATA is not pass through anymore so some of the S.M.A.R.T. drive status parameters may not be read properly be the computer

Additional Comments