Vantec NexStar MX Dual 3.5in External Hard Drive

MX40154 NexStar MX Dual 3.5in External Hard Drive
MX40154 NexStar MX Dual 3.5in External Hard Drive MX40154 NexStar MX Dual 3.5in External Hard Drive MX40154 NexStar MX Dual 3.5in External Hard Drive MX40154 NexStar MX Dual 3.5in External Hard Drive

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: 2.6 / 5 With 13 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
Thursday, July 02, 2020
By: Ted Stewart
From: Spruce Grove

You cannot afford to risk your backup in an unstable enclosure

Strengths:

Cheap, offers mirror raid functionality

Weaknesses:

Unstable. Randomly resets itself when large files are being accessed, which functionally means things like backups can't be consistently accessed. This is a deal breaker for a backup system; if you can't access the backup when you need it you're in trouble.

Additional Comments:

Spend the extra money on a higher quality system which will be there when you need it.'
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
By: Ben
From: Edmonton

Works Well, Aside From Large Transfers

Strengths:

Affordable RAID implementation.

Weaknesses:

Does not handle large transfers well (> 1 TB). It locks up partway through, requiring a power cycle.

Additional Comments:

I've had this enclosure for several years and it works well on a day-to-day basis. I use it to provide hard drive redundancy (via RAID 1) for my media collection, which I am frequently reading and sometimes writing. It actually just saved my butt, as one of my drives failed but I was still able to access all of my data due on the redundant drive. However, as I'm copying 4 TB worth of data from the surviving drive onto the new drives I've put into the enclosure, I'm reminded of a problem I had with it in the first place. It does not do well with large data transfers. At the 1 TB mark, the drive totally locked up and I had to power cycle it before I could continue. If not for this problem, I would give it 5 stars. However, for myself, this large of transfer is a rare occurrence so it is only slightly annoying.
Friday, February 07, 2020
By: Mike
From: Okotoks, AB

Sucks

Strengths:

Nice form factor, solid.

Weaknesses:

Disconnects and corrupts drives. Not dependable at all. A waste of money.

Additional Comments:

I was having issues, then got a TimeMachine drive for backups. When I stopped using this enclosure, the problems went away. Recently put it back online again, and all the disconnects and corruption started again. My drives won't even boot now.
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
By: Jr
From: Yukon

Vantec NexStar MX Dual 3.5in External Hard Drive

Strengths:

Price Feels Solid

Weaknesses:

Fails to Boot Up have to play with the Power Switch to get it to start every time

Additional Comments:

Save your money buy a better unit Feels like it will totaly fail in short order with having to play with the power switch every time starting up the unit
Sunday, May 06, 2018
By: Tom
From: Edmonton

Not worth it.

Strengths:

Its cheap, feels nice and solid, all metal build.

Weaknesses:

After about 18 months it stopped working. It wasn't a heavy use item, it was an off site backup of photos and media. So every couple of weeks it would have been used to do backups of my machine, then sat in storage (clean dry in a air tight bag). This last time bringing it home it was dead. Drives spin up then after 2 seconds spin down and is inactive.

Additional Comments:

Not worth it, even as a backup of a backup. Ive got G-tech drives for all my other things, Im replacing this with another G-tech. Bye Bye NexStar...
Saturday, January 13, 2018
By: Stephen
From: Edmonton

Hit and miss

Strengths:

When it works it's great. USB and eSata connections are useful. Lots of capacity with two drive slots.

Weaknesses:

Not necessarily all that reliable. Strikes me as pretty expensive for what it is.

Additional Comments:

I have two of them. One still works great after a year. The other one failed within a year. Caveat emptor.
Tuesday, August 08, 2017
By: Darren
From: Calgary

3 years Still working

Strengths:

Cheap solution for external redundant backup. RAID support. Nice look solid build.

Weaknesses:

Not a 100% stable rig, but for the price it's good enough. you will have to baby-sit it during backups but once the data is in there. bingo-bango

Additional Comments:

Put 2 Seagate 1Tb 7200 Rpm archive drives in. Set up raid to clone the drives. Set up on OS X 10. something . mountain lion i think. still using drive with OS X Sierra with no issues besides the occasional disconnect. Never happened during transfer, just luck
Saturday, June 10, 2017
By: Vince
From: edmonton

Avoid at all costs

Weaknesses:

it self-corrupted a raid-zero multiple times, switched to "individual drive mode" and the unit lasted for about 2 more months before it absolutely refused to mount ever again. The drives I added to it were brand new. I swapped power supplies to troubleshoot, it's not the power supply. This enclosure is garbage.
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
By: Thomas
From: Vancouver

DO NOT BUY!!!!!!!!!!

Strengths:

Looks great Runs great some of the time

Weaknesses:

Painfull sucks randomly disconnects

Additional Comments:

DO NOT BUY, Randomly disconnects during important transfers, Write speed randomly bogs down to 200KB/s I should have read reviews elsewhere before buying this
Thursday, January 12, 2017
By: Michael
From: Alberta

Excellent product, does the job

Strengths:

Solid Construction Easy to assemble / disassemble Works well with no issues

Weaknesses:

None that I can think of.

Additional Comments:

This enclosure does the job. It's well built, is easy to take apart and install / remove drives and works the way it is supposed to. My only gripe is I wish it had more than 2 bays. I realized I'm a hard drive hoarder and I'm swapping drives quite often. But if you only need a space for 2 drives, this is a great machine.