Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO CPU Cooler

MX36377 Hyper 212 EVO CPU Cooler
MX36377 Hyper 212 EVO CPU Cooler MX36377 Hyper 212 EVO CPU Cooler MX36377 Hyper 212 EVO CPU Cooler MX36377 Hyper 212 EVO CPU Cooler

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 50 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission

Best bang for your buck

Submitted on Saturday, May 09, 2020
By K.R. LaBossiere
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Once installed, the temperature was a constant 32-34°C. I had water cooling prior to this setup and its only a couple of degrees more. I am extremely impressed with its price to performance. The biggest strength is if a fan goes you still have passive cooling. Best thing yet is install a second fan just in case one dies you still have great cooling. My water cooling by Vantec was boiling at the block in seconds when the water pump failed and could have fried my cpu causing me to have to upgrade to a new motherboard, mem and cpu if not caught in time. My computer did not shut down and went to bios overheating fault and kept boiling. No more water cooling for me. The right air cooler is just as good and more reliable.

Weaknesses of the product

The instructions are not well done. A word or two may have been a benefit then just drawings to go by. Biggest flaw of the whole setup.

Additional Comments

Besides the instructions, this product is a definite YES. Way better than water cooling in my opinion. water cooling is soooo.. nit worth it. Especially with an investment of a whole system at stake. Only saying this because parts for computers become obsolete after 4-5 years and if a water cooling rig fails its complete new rebuild for the core components.

Amazing heatsink and so cheap!

Submitted on Monday, December 30, 2019
By David
From Victoria

Strengths of the product

Took my AMD FX6300 from a normal idle temp with stock heatsink of 37 ~ 39 °C, and now it runs at 18 ~ 19 °C even under load - and the room ambient is 18 °C to start with)! Only used 1 fan with it, didn't need anything more.

Weaknesses of the product

Mine was for a socket AM3+ and the mounting clamps preset points did NOT line up, which made actual mounting a pain. However, it still sits correctly, just had to grow an extra hand to hold it while setting the screws.

Additional Comments

Bought for $25 to replace a failed stock heatsink. AMAZING performance for a fan-cooled heatsink - very impressed!

Great Cooler

Submitted on Monday, June 17, 2019
By Ethan
From Langley

Strengths of the product

Is a great cooler that took my 80 degrees Celsius ryzen 3 1300x down to 46° Celsius under max load.

Weaknesses of the product

I would suggest getting someone to help you with installation if possible as it is a bit tricky to hold down and tighten.

Additional Comments

Overall it is a great bang for your buck cooler and I would highly recommend buying this is you're considering it.

Works incredibly well but installation is horrific

Submitted on Thursday, December 06, 2018
By EightDiagramPoleFighter
From Winnipeg

Strengths of the product

Works incredibly well Whisper silent Fan snaps on and off easily and you can mount an extra fan or choose venting direction It is ridiculously huge (see also weaknesses)

Weaknesses of the product

Installation will make you hate yourself Installation instructions were possibly written by the devil Installation requires backplate which can possibly make a retrofit more complicated It is ridiculously huge (see also strengths)

Additional Comments

Once you have this thing installed, even the simplest cooling solution will work great. The thing is, installation is a nightmare. It doesn't go together easily, and I've never had to recommend this with any PC product over the last 30 years but you might want to make it a two person job to actually mount the thing. As indicated in my summary, the instructions were also possibly written by the devil and/or at least somebody who lives in a non-linear timeline. In the end, you end up with a huge block installed in your PC. If you like your computer to look like you are not messing around, this is a good thing. If you have a smaller case or you don't find slabs of steel aesthetically pleasing, it's a weakness. Personally I am of the "not messing around" camp so I actually like it. In the end: is it worth it? I think so. Maybe in the future when we've finished making cars that can drive themselves and slabs of glass that can instantly connect you to anybody anywhere on the planet we'll get around to developing a motherboard that has a built in snap together mounting system that prevents the very same PC from having an instant meltdown. I dare to dream.

Retired

Submitted on Thursday, June 14, 2018
By Old Fish
From YYC

Strengths of the product

Very good at cooling. Took a hot AMD FX-8320E which under load ran to shutdown 71C--> 92C to It now runs at 45C under the same loads. (+3)

Weaknesses of the product

Big do measure your case Instructions are terrible (-1) (Just look on you tube You will need access to the back of your motherboard to install this unit. (Most will have to remove the MB from the case. (-1)

Additional Comments

A very good cooler, which you must know your strengths if you wish to add it to an existing setup.

Very tall the CPU and can slide on the CPU

Submitted on Sunday, February 11, 2018
By Nya
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

This thing is a beast! It is very tall. Make sure your ATX case has enough width to take this heatsink. I believe the height from the CPU is 159mm. The fan is whisper quiet for the few minutes I have seen it in action.

Weaknesses of the product

Is too big and may hit a 200mm fan you have on the side of the case. You can't orient the heatsink is any direction in the case. It's either one way or the opposite. The mount on the CPU with the paste can allow for the heatsink to slide!!! Yes, you can tighten all 4 screws to the motherboard and still be able to rotate the thing on the CPU. Also, the fan attached to the aluminum pieces can rattle.

Additional Comments

Did not keep it long enough to say if it is good in heat dissipation as I removed it after 1 day and going to return it for something more "solid". Would I suggest this heatsink...? No. There are other alternatives out there that can perform better and are mounted like a stone on the CPU.

Blown away...

Submitted on Thursday, April 27, 2017
By Gary
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Bought a Xeon X5670 from a old server and used i7 CPU fan but it was overheating. Operating temperature was 84° C @ 1,917 RPM and to 25.6° C at 1,917 RPM I'm currently running a old LGA1366 setup. It's nice to know this will work with future builds down the road with LGA 2011.

Weaknesses of the product

Instructions.

Additional Comments

I'm a laptop guy so not the most quiet setup but it's probably the holes for extra fans on the case. Lowering the CPU fan speed helped.

Good Cooler

Submitted on Sunday, April 23, 2017
By Jon
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Inexpensive and effective

Weaknesses of the product

Doesn't completely clamp down on my cpu

Additional Comments

Replaced my H100 which died of pump failure. My cpu is a 3930k. Arctic silver 5 thermal paste. Heatsink does not have enough thread travel on installation screws to completely clamp down on cpu as I could still rotate the mounted heatsink a few degrees with my hands. However in spite of this the Hyper 212 has enough surface contact with cpu to give me temps of 35C idle and 60C at 100% load. My OC is 4.4GHZ @1.265V. I installed a 2nd 120mm fan in a push-pull configuration for extra cooling.

Whisper Quiet Fan

Submitted on Thursday, February 02, 2017
By Happy Customer
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

This CPU cooling fan is very quiet. So quiet that I can barely hear any sound at all from my computer. It also keeps my CPU running cool about 30° C while I develop software (editing/compiling). System Build: Asus PRIME z270-A Motherboard Intel Core i7-7700K CPU Antec 450W ATX Power Supply Corsair 330R Titanium Edition Case

Weaknesses of the product

Size is fairly large, but fit within the case and does not appear to obstruct the installation of other cards.

Additional Comments

Excellent Virtually-Silent CPU Fan Cooler

Working well

Submitted on Sunday, October 30, 2016
By Les
From Camrose

Strengths of the product

Easy to remove fans for cleaning without fiddling with awkward clips. Looks good and does it's job. Runs quiet barely can hear it and I installed second fan to it ( cooler comes with spare brackets to install second fan.)

Weaknesses of the product

Install instructions a little weak. But in my case with LGA2011 socket it was very easy to install.

Additional Comments

Well worth the money spent, with gaming a lot I needed it.