Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO CPU Cooler

MX36377 Hyper 212 EVO CPU Cooler
MX36377 Hyper 212 EVO CPU Cooler MX36377 Hyper 212 EVO CPU Cooler MX36377 Hyper 212 EVO CPU Cooler MX36377 Hyper 212 EVO CPU Cooler

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 53 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission

A BIG beast

Submitted on Friday, July 17, 2020
By Ronnie
From North Vancouver

Strengths of the product

Works well Very cheap Customizable

Weaknesses of the product

No LEDs Very large form factor

Additional Comments

Luckily I have a case that this fits in, it is HUGE, so make sure it fits before committing. Even then it is very close to my DIMMs! That being said, it works like a charm, dropped my temp by 10° C compared to the AMD stock cooler at idle, and 15° C under load. It comes with one fan, with no LEDs, but you can add a second Fan and replace the fans with any standard 120mm FAN, including LED versions in future if you want. I am very happy with the upgrade for the price.

Best budget cooler

Submitted on Tuesday, June 16, 2020
By Paul
From Leduc, AB

Strengths of the product

- Once installed temps were noticeably cooler then before (was idling in the high 40s to low 50s prior to install. Am now idling in high 30s with occasionally hitting 28 Celsius to low 40s). - Enough thermal paste is included to utilize for 1-2 other cooler installs. - 2nd set of clips for a 2nd fan are included. - 4 screws to attach 2nd set of clips to fan are included. - 4 small rubber anti-vibration pads for 2nd fan are included.

Weaknesses of the product

Instructions as others have said may have been written by Satan himself, or a close relative. Only 4 extra anti-vibration pads for the 2nd fan. No extras IF you ever have to replace a fan (pads must be removed to unscrew the clips from the fan) In my case, one nut for the backplate, would not screw on at all until using a tap & dye to straighten up the threads. Threads were fudged up right out of the box.

Additional Comments

I bought this obviously to cool down my CPU, as in the summer time, the stock Intel Core i5 Cooler just wasn't cutting it, especially when gaming, which effectively limited me to gaming only in the winter time, since the cold/ low ambient temps in the room helped in keeping the CPU cooler, along with the cooler. I bought this as part of a "semi-big" gaming setup overhaul which involved me relocating my PC to a new desk. Anyways, now that there's some back story, onto the cooler itself. The gentleman at Memory Express who served me, was able to answer any & all questions regarding it. Obviously, prior to me purchasing I had researched this cooler for 3-4 months, to make sure it would fit inside my Enermax Ostrog GT Mid-Tower Case (spoiler: it did). The night before I purchased & installed the cooler, I watched 1-3 install videos on YouTube of it being installed to an LGA 1150 socket, which is the socket I have on my PC. Install was relatively easy, even with the picture only instructions. I did have to make 2 attempts at since my first attempt, something didn't feel right when screwing it down & IO did not want to force anything. All in all, the install went well with some help of a family member to the cooler itself steady & help me wiggle the fans into place on the cooler. I had to wiggle the one down the cooler, since I have Corsair Vengeance RAM, which consequently was in the way of clipping the fan on exactly where it needed to be & my GPU was tight to 2 of the 4 clips I would've needed to release to remove my RAM in order to clip the fan on. Me & this family member both gently used a tiny flathead screw driver & our fingers to gently hold the clips away from the fins & slide it down into place. I also installed a 2nd fan for a push/ pull configuration which installed much easier since I had room to clip it on directly where it needed to be. Reading some of the reviews here on Memory Express, I came across one that said they were able to rotate/ turn the cooler after the screws had been tightened down. I was worried about that happening in my case, but after tightening down the screws completely my worry was wiped away as the cooler was not loose at all. I feel either they got a "bad" kit, or possibly had a mishap during the install. On the cooler where that X-bracket goes, there's that center hole that the bracket sits in, BUT then there is a small "post" next to it that lines up with a certain slot on the bracket depending what your socket type is. I feel this person perhaps didn't get that "post" lined up with the respective slot on the X-Bracket, or perhaps installed the bracket with the slots for that "post" on the opposite side, because I believe the function of that small "post" is to prevent the cooler from being able to rotate after being installed. In summary, this is a great budget cooler & I highly recommend it for anyone who's like me & has heard horror stories of water cooling & so has sworn to stay away from water cooling. I have yet to really test it in a session with some friends but I am confident it will help based on what I've seen regards to improvements already. Be mindful of what case you install it in though. I learned through a review on Amazon for this cooler, that it will just fit my case (mentioned above). After putting my side panel back on, I could see through the glass panel that there is approximately a 1/2 inch (possibly a bit more) of clearance between those 4 copper points on top & the panel. I feel that if my glass panel was completely flush/ smooth with the rest of the panel, that this cooler may not have fit at all. (Google search my case listed above to see what I mean).

Best bang for your buck

Submitted on Saturday, May 09, 2020
By K.R. LaBossiere
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Once installed, the temperature was a constant 32-34°C. I had water cooling prior to this setup and its only a couple of degrees more. I am extremely impressed with its price to performance. The biggest strength is if a fan goes you still have passive cooling. Best thing yet is install a second fan just in case one dies you still have great cooling. My water cooling by Vantec was boiling at the block in seconds when the water pump failed and could have fried my cpu causing me to have to upgrade to a new motherboard, mem and cpu if not caught in time. My computer did not shut down and went to bios overheating fault and kept boiling. No more water cooling for me. The right air cooler is just as good and more reliable.

Weaknesses of the product

The instructions are not well done. A word or two may have been a benefit then just drawings to go by. Biggest flaw of the whole setup.

Additional Comments

Besides the instructions, this product is a definite YES. Way better than water cooling in my opinion. water cooling is soooo.. nit worth it. Especially with an investment of a whole system at stake. Only saying this because parts for computers become obsolete after 4-5 years and if a water cooling rig fails its complete new rebuild for the core components.

Garbadge Hardware

Submitted on Thursday, May 07, 2020
By Geof
From Alberta

Strengths of the product

None

Weaknesses of the product

The screws and nuts used to connect the cooler to the motherboard are worse than third world quality. Of the four screws only 2 threaded, one cross threaded and eventually broke while attempting to tighten it and one would not thread at all.

Additional Comments

For those who get this installed, it appears to work nicely and cool well and the price is very attractive, however if you can't mount it because of cheap hardware, what's its real value? I would stay clear of this unit and pay the money for better quality.

Amazing heatsink and so cheap!

Submitted on Monday, December 30, 2019
By David
From Victoria

Strengths of the product

Took my AMD FX6300 from a normal idle temp with stock heatsink of 37 ~ 39 °C, and now it runs at 18 ~ 19 °C even under load - and the room ambient is 18 °C to start with)! Only used 1 fan with it, didn't need anything more.

Weaknesses of the product

Mine was for a socket AM3+ and the mounting clamps preset points did NOT line up, which made actual mounting a pain. However, it still sits correctly, just had to grow an extra hand to hold it while setting the screws.

Additional Comments

Bought for $25 to replace a failed stock heatsink. AMAZING performance for a fan-cooled heatsink - very impressed!

Great Cooler

Submitted on Monday, June 17, 2019
By Ethan
From Langley

Strengths of the product

Is a great cooler that took my 80 degrees Celsius ryzen 3 1300x down to 46° Celsius under max load.

Weaknesses of the product

I would suggest getting someone to help you with installation if possible as it is a bit tricky to hold down and tighten.

Additional Comments

Overall it is a great bang for your buck cooler and I would highly recommend buying this is you're considering it.

Works incredibly well but installation is horrific

Submitted on Thursday, December 06, 2018
By EightDiagramPoleFighter
From Winnipeg

Strengths of the product

Works incredibly well Whisper silent Fan snaps on and off easily and you can mount an extra fan or choose venting direction It is ridiculously huge (see also weaknesses)

Weaknesses of the product

Installation will make you hate yourself Installation instructions were possibly written by the devil Installation requires backplate which can possibly make a retrofit more complicated It is ridiculously huge (see also strengths)

Additional Comments

Once you have this thing installed, even the simplest cooling solution will work great. The thing is, installation is a nightmare. It doesn't go together easily, and I've never had to recommend this with any PC product over the last 30 years but you might want to make it a two person job to actually mount the thing. As indicated in my summary, the instructions were also possibly written by the devil and/or at least somebody who lives in a non-linear timeline. In the end, you end up with a huge block installed in your PC. If you like your computer to look like you are not messing around, this is a good thing. If you have a smaller case or you don't find slabs of steel aesthetically pleasing, it's a weakness. Personally I am of the "not messing around" camp so I actually like it. In the end: is it worth it? I think so. Maybe in the future when we've finished making cars that can drive themselves and slabs of glass that can instantly connect you to anybody anywhere on the planet we'll get around to developing a motherboard that has a built in snap together mounting system that prevents the very same PC from having an instant meltdown. I dare to dream.

Retired

Submitted on Thursday, June 14, 2018
By Old Fish
From YYC

Strengths of the product

Very good at cooling. Took a hot AMD FX-8320E which under load ran to shutdown 71C--> 92C to It now runs at 45C under the same loads. (+3)

Weaknesses of the product

Big do measure your case Instructions are terrible (-1) (Just look on you tube You will need access to the back of your motherboard to install this unit. (Most will have to remove the MB from the case. (-1)

Additional Comments

A very good cooler, which you must know your strengths if you wish to add it to an existing setup.

Very tall the CPU and can slide on the CPU

Submitted on Sunday, February 11, 2018
By Nya
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

This thing is a beast! It is very tall. Make sure your ATX case has enough width to take this heatsink. I believe the height from the CPU is 159mm. The fan is whisper quiet for the few minutes I have seen it in action.

Weaknesses of the product

Is too big and may hit a 200mm fan you have on the side of the case. You can't orient the heatsink is any direction in the case. It's either one way or the opposite. The mount on the CPU with the paste can allow for the heatsink to slide!!! Yes, you can tighten all 4 screws to the motherboard and still be able to rotate the thing on the CPU. Also, the fan attached to the aluminum pieces can rattle.

Additional Comments

Did not keep it long enough to say if it is good in heat dissipation as I removed it after 1 day and going to return it for something more "solid". Would I suggest this heatsink...? No. There are other alternatives out there that can perform better and are mounted like a stone on the CPU.

Blown away...

Submitted on Thursday, April 27, 2017
By Gary
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Bought a Xeon X5670 from a old server and used i7 CPU fan but it was overheating. Operating temperature was 84° C @ 1,917 RPM and to 25.6° C at 1,917 RPM I'm currently running a old LGA1366 setup. It's nice to know this will work with future builds down the road with LGA 2011.

Weaknesses of the product

Instructions.

Additional Comments

I'm a laptop guy so not the most quiet setup but it's probably the holes for extra fans on the case. Lowering the CPU fan speed helped.