G.SKILL RipjawsX Series 8GB PC3-12800 Dual Channel DDR3 Kit (2 x 4GB)

MX33234 RipjawsX Series 8GB PC3-12800 Dual Channel DDR3 Kit (2 x 4GB)
MX33234 RipjawsX Series 8GB PC3-12800 Dual Channel DDR3 Kit (2 x 4GB)

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 22 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission

Great RAM, used for many years and genrations

Submitted on Tuesday, March 06, 2018
By Bailey
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Have bought the g.skill and g.skill x series and have had no problems. i have 16 gb in my system and have no problems other than price fluctuations. No problems in adobe premier pro. i throw a lot at these sticks and they have no problems.

Weaknesses of the product

Heat spreaders may make issues with your aftermarket cooler, although i have no issues with my EVO 212. Had to bring one stick back after realizing it was not functional to its fullest potential. MemX gladly exchanged...

Additional Comments

Great price (sometimes) great speed, and great looking ram for any glass / plastic windows!

Excellent RAM for the price

Submitted on Saturday, September 10, 2016
By Michael
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

- Great price - Very stable at stock speeds

Weaknesses of the product

- Can cause some issues when overclocking past a certain point. However this only happens when coming out of standby, and hasn't affected the stability of the system itself when running at full load

Additional Comments

Considering the price it comes at is the same or even cheaper than value RAM, I can't fault this for causing any issues while overclocking. 5 Stars. If you want good overclocking RAM, get something rated faster or spend more money. Just a note that I have standby issues with this RAM when overclocking past a certain point (other RAM doesn't have this issue) and no amount of memory timing changes or voltage changes will fix it, and many with GSkill branded RAM have reported the same issue.

Decent RAM for the price

Submitted on Monday, February 01, 2016
By Scott Coburn
From Medicine Hat

Strengths of the product

There isn't too much to say about RAM, it either works or it doesn't. In my case this RAM worked fine. My son recently purchased this RAM as part of an upgrade for his ageing Phenom II X4 965 system. We coupled this RAM with an Intel Core i5 4460 and an ASUS H97M-E/CSM motherboard. This RAM worked out of the box with XMP enabled on said motherboard.

Weaknesses of the product

There are no weaknesses that I've experience with this RAM. Again it pretty much works or it doesn't and in my case it just worked.

Additional Comments

You can't go wrong with this RAM. If you are looking for decent DDR3 1600 RAM in an 8GB dual channel kit, you won't find better.

Pretty good overall, fast response and runs fine on my i5-650 board.

Submitted on Wednesday, November 25, 2015
By Mike K.
From West Edmonton area

Strengths of the product

Most important, it works on finicky boards like my i5-650, which had problems running other brand names. I didn't think it would work after trying the high end ones so I took a chance, bought 1kit of 8 gigs. It work right away so I went back and bought 2 more sticks making it a 16 gigs of ram running both rams dual channel. Have been VERY happy so far. I am running BF4 and BFH with a Asus Strix 970GTX(Which I bought from here and love it as well!). Excellent price for a 1600mhz gaming ram.

Weaknesses of the product

So far, so good. no complaints for the older boards capability.

Additional Comments

Very happy, tried Fury, didn't work. Tried Corsair standard stick, didn't work. I had ME service try running it but we didn't think this would work. I did research on it before taking a chance and gambled. Out of the box this one just got up and went! :)

Died after 6 months

Submitted on Saturday, August 25, 2012
By Robert K.
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Weaknesses of the product

Additional Comments

One of the memory sticks died after 6 months - I opened up the case and pulled the ram stick after my computer failed to boot. I saw that the metal casing had removed itself or broken off of the chip. I'm guessing it overheated and failed as a result. One of the sticks is still working, but I'll be going with a different brand next time.

Had one burn up

Submitted on Thursday, July 12, 2012
By DRoc
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Better then what I had

Weaknesses of the product

Had a stick burn out in under 60 days. Was in the middle of some deep combat when ZAP beeeeeeeep . After pulling 1 part out after another I come to find out my second 4 gig sticks was b!tched. Still runs on one stick tho and still fast enough for me and what I do I have confirmed it is the stick and not the mobo..

Additional Comments

meh It's a gamble at this price

BEST PRICE EVER

Submitted on Sunday, May 06, 2012
By Sheldon
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Has a very good price for 8gb runs stable dual channel looks cool

Weaknesses of the product

kills you if you eat it doesn't mix with peanut butter wait...

Additional Comments

Great buy highly recommend, even for a budget builder! G.skill has never let me down!

Perfect Buy!

Submitted on Tuesday, January 10, 2012
By Kevin H
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Great Appearance and works right out of the box. Unlike a few other Rams I've tried. I've heard people having a lot of issue with these interfering with CPU coolers and such, but I can't see how it would. I guess it's an intel issue because I built 3 different AMD gaming rigs and never had the cooler being in the way of the Ram sticks... maybe I'm just lucky haha

Weaknesses of the product

lack of red LED to make it cooler to look at? haha I'm joking

Additional Comments

Overall I am happy with this product. I mean so far I haven't had any dead ram stick yet. I'm not too sure about doing any OC on it since I haven't yet but I'll ask my customers to see if any of them tried. So far it's been perfect!

Great

Submitted on Wednesday, December 14, 2011
By Lloyd
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Timings Looks good heat spread.

Weaknesses of the product

none

Additional Comments

I have 2 of these set mounted on Sabertooth 990FX with FX-8120. Very stable combination.

Excellent Memory

Submitted on Monday, December 12, 2011
By Ryan
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

- decent overclock - tight timings - stunning good looks

Weaknesses of the product

- none

Additional Comments

I'm very impressed with this memory. As long as you're not running Windows Home Basic 64bit, I highly recommend you pick up two of these kits. Remember that Windows Home Basic 64 has an 8GB memory limit, which the first reviewer obviously didn't realize.