Microsoft Windows 7 Professional x64 (64-bit) SP1 DVD - OEM

MX32998 Windows 7 Professional x64 (64-bit) SP1 DVD - OEM
MX32998 Windows 7 Professional x64 (64-bit) SP1 DVD - OEM

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 15 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission

Last MS OS to have

Submitted on Thursday, June 07, 2018
By Randy
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

I have read here where people haven't been able to install Windows 7 on an SSD. I have had it running for years on a Sandisk 250GB SSD which just died. Reinstalled no problems on a new WD 500GB. No problem. No extra software required. No problems at all. USB 3 is no problem. Run my backup over USB 3 to an external drive. Windows 10 is full of bloatware and communicates your every move to the mother ship so forget privacy. I bought my wife a new laptop PC from Memory Express that came pre-loaded with Windows 10. It is now in an infinite update loop as of about May 2018. A known problem but Microsoft is doing nothing about it. Windows 10 doesn't even have all of the features of Windows 7. Why downgrade to Windows 10?

Weaknesses of the product

If you run Media Center using an Over the Air tuner, Microsoft has not enabled support for OTA for Canada. There is a patch that you can apply to make it work though. Typical Microsoft stuff.

Additional Comments

If you are willing to put the effort into making Windows 10 work then just put the effort into a Linux OS. If you want the functionality of Windows 7 and especially Media Center then get Windows 7 but whatever you do do not install Windows 10. If Windows 10 was so great no one would be buying Windows 7 but look - it is still available.

Last Hooray for Windows 7, in 2018 going forward

Submitted on Friday, February 09, 2018
By Andy
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Awesome looking GUI. Still the most intuitive one out of the last 20 years, out of any OS.

Weaknesses of the product

Where do I begin. No USB 3 support. Does not support NVME M.2 (PCIeX4) gumstick drives. No refined control over SSD optimization (requires third-party apps always). No UEFI bios boot. Extremely vulnerable to viruses. No built-in antivirus. Does not support modern CPUs such as Ryzen or Intel 8th gen processors. No directX 12 support. Allows users to turn off updates.

Additional Comments

IMHO, this wonderful OS had it's day almost ten years ago, but it's no longer the prize winning horse it once was. Time to take it out to the back...

Some info for you!

Submitted on Sunday, December 31, 2017
By Laurence
From Winnipeg

Strengths of the product

Best Windows OS to date. Very fast startup time, faster with a SSD, 23 seconds for me. Easy to navigate and access programs. SSD burnouts are not due to Windows 7, but rather the consumer's ignorance. I have 4 computers all running windows 7 Pro 64bit on SSD's.

Weaknesses of the product

Microsoft support will end sooner than more recent versions.

Additional Comments

Unless Microsoft comes out with a better version of Windows than 8 and 10, I won't buy another Windows OS. Rather switch to unix / linux!

There is a reason why

Submitted on Tuesday, November 21, 2017
By Randy
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Best recent Windows operating system. Why? Way more features than next privacy invading versions.

Weaknesses of the product

How long will Microsoft support this version?

Additional Comments

Check the price out versus Windows 10. This version will cost you more. You know why? Because people are willing to pay more for a better product. If Windows 10 was so good, nobody would buy Windows 7 - especially at a higher price.

Tired windows

Submitted on Wednesday, July 12, 2017
By Larry
From Spruce Grove

Strengths of the product

Looks better than Windows 10

Weaknesses of the product

No DirectX 12.

Additional Comments

Buy Windows 10 Home instead. This thing is too expensive for what it is.

Best OS for it's time (circa 2009)

Submitted on Sunday, June 25, 2017
By Dan
From Alberta

Strengths of the product

-windows 7 Professional goes beyond the 8 gig memory cap that is imposed on lesser versions -an old familiar user interface with start button -Windows 7 Professional installs without having an internet connection to activate it. In other words it will function without being activated, although without a screen saver (screen is black background).

Weaknesses of the product

-cannot boot off NVMe drives -lacks some SSD optimization features -does not have native USB 3.0 support while installing OS: make sure your motherboard has an older USB 2.0 or PS/2 jack or else you will have no way of selecting partitions and entering the 16 digit key -if not activated it will not update or install certain software that checks for a "genuine copy" of Microsoft (naming Microsoft Office/Word/etc as an example)

Additional Comments

The bottom line is this: if you want to use the latest and greatest hardware then you need to run it on the latest and greatest OS, which at this time (for Microsoft) is Windows 10. I bought Windows 7 Professional in November 2012 for my i5-3570K and installed it on a 240 gig OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, which is still in use today (45 months later). So that goes to prove that Windows 7 does not wreck an SSD. Do your homework and "optimize" your settings in Win7 5 stars: rock solid dependable 5 yrs

After Windows 7 go to Linux

Submitted on Sunday, June 04, 2017
By Randy
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

This the last reasonably good version of Windows. After Windows 7, Microsoft decided to de-featured so many things. Windows 10 is a stripped down, privacy invading operating system.

Weaknesses of the product

It's not as good as earlier versions.

Additional Comments

Install this Windows 7 as your last Windows operating system and start to migrate to Linux.

My Bad Experience

Submitted on Thursday, June 01, 2017
By Sam
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

None!

Weaknesses of the product

This thing treated my SSD like it was a regualr hard drive. Now it's cooked!

Additional Comments

Who knew that "defrag" isn't the same as "optimize"? If you use a solid state, do NOT use this junk outdated OS. If you are nostalgic and still use a spinning drive, then sure, use this 7, but if you want to be modern, do NOT, I repeat, do NOT buy this old version!

Unsafe OS as of 2017

Submitted on Tuesday, May 30, 2017
By Tom
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

GUI is probably best looking of the past decade, but that's about it.

Weaknesses of the product

Most users hit by the wannacry event were either using Vista or 7. Because this OS allows users to update manually and doesn't force them to update, it is vulnerable to cyber attacks.

Additional Comments

This OS should not be used in today's modern PC world. It is hopelessly outdated, and not safe because of it's lax update policy.

Best Operating System Microsoft has ever created

Submitted on Saturday, February 11, 2017
By Frank
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

-User Control -Accessibility -Ease of Use -Everything is where you expect it -Clean Look -Feels like a real PC OS -Best overall performance -Most Stable OS with GUI I have ever seen -Highest possible compatibility -Excellent SSD compatibility

Weaknesses of the product

-Microsoft is deliberately withholding DirectX12 from Windows 7 to lure more people into Win 10. Although DirectX12 is coming with some new features, those features are only "better" in theory. There is barely any programs or games out there at this time, that would take advantage of DX12 in any meaningful way.

Additional Comments