Netgear WNR3500L Wireless N300 Open Source Gigabit Router

MX30294 WNR3500L Wireless N300 Open Source  Gigabit Router
MX30294 WNR3500L Wireless N300 Open Source  Gigabit Router

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 13 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission

Great router, but...

Submitted on Friday, April 19, 2019
By Kelley
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

- Open router - Good wireless coverage for small to medium sized house

Weaknesses of the product

- The base really sucks - Cannot handle fibre speeds

Additional Comments

I have been using this router for several years, and it has served me well - I have never really had any problems with it, until now. I recently upgraded to a 600Mbps line, and was surprised to learn that this router cannot handle that speed unless you turn off QoS and wireless networking. The maximum speed that you can get with QoS and wireless is 150Mbps. If you turn off QoS, you can get 300Mbps. To get 600Mbps, you also have to disable the wireless radio. If you don't intend to upgrade to a line faster than 150Mbps, it is a great router. Fair warning.

Principal

Submitted on Thursday, December 13, 2018
By Jeff
From Winterpeg

Strengths of the product

Takes to Tomato like NY pizza sauce. I'm a n00b and I had no problem flashing the router. I've had incredible uptime with Advanced Tomato Firmware, plus fairly easy to set up VPN,

Weaknesses of the product

Only N300, but for the price, can't beat. I'm staying on 2.4, let all the other schmucks crowd the 5 band. Not sure if it's got enough steam to run as a main, bought for parents so I could have WIFI there.

Additional Comments

Decent router.

It pays to read reviews

Submitted on Monday, December 23, 2013
By Kevin
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

I figured I would give this little router a try based on all the good reviews it's received. It turned out to be a good decision as it's definitely the easiest router I've ever configured. Devices that we were just unable to connect to any routers in the past were painlessly and effortlessly online in minutes. I was surprised at the range, as it started listing off unsecured devices in a building a block away.

Weaknesses of the product

I really haven't found any weaknesses that are justifiable considering the price, basically I got more then I expected for $70

Additional Comments

I'd have no problem recommending one of these to anybody.

Easy setup bad wireless performance

Submitted on Saturday, November 09, 2013
By Arvin A
From Toronto

Strengths of the product

Easy setup, easy update of firmware via web interface

Weaknesses of the product

Terrible wireless performance. Connected at 144Mbs with full signal strength and can get max 30Mbs for file transfers over the network and that's on a good day. It usually hovers around 12-25.

Additional Comments

For internet use you won't notice the slow wireless transfer rates but it is very noticeable when transferring files over the network.

Phenomenal little hackable router!

Submitted on Monday, July 08, 2013
By Andrew W.
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Amazing speed at the price (Gigabit LAN, WIFI N), Easily hackable (Tomato firmware, DD-WRT), Very stable, Great WIFI range

Weaknesses of the product

No 802.11ac (but there are no real hackable routers with it yet.)

Additional Comments

The new-school WRT54G. This router is easily hackable, and offers a wide base of features under third-party firmware. Out of the box, this router accepts DD-WRT and Tomato USB firmwares through the web interface, without any issue. I had it hacked and running Tomato USB Shibby build in less than 5 minutes. The stability is unmatched, handles an overwhelming amount of traffic with ease, and doesn't ever seem to falter. No reboots or any issues so far. Would highly recommend for this price!

Solid Performer

Submitted on Friday, January 18, 2013
By WRSMark
From Vegreville, AB

Strengths of the product

Easy to set up. Reliable. Adequate WiFi range and performance.

Weaknesses of the product

Nothing thus far.

Additional Comments

I use this model as a standard low cost option for customers looking for a router that will reliably forward ports in order to access their mini servers. Of all the units I have installed in the last couple of years, I believe only one has even required a reboot when it was discovered that the system could not be accessed remotely. That's pretty impressive. For the price, I have not found a better option.

Wow!

Submitted on Tuesday, June 26, 2012
By Peter
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Very easy install! Super Duper fast wireless, best I have had. The Netgear Genie is a nice plus.

Weaknesses of the product

None really. Just a cheap base.

Additional Comments

Can hardly wait to try my external hard drive and Netflix with this. Great job Netgear

Solid.

Submitted on Monday, March 05, 2012
By Casey
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

-Can handle lots of Torrent/eMule traffic. -Doesn't drop connections. -USB printer/HDD sets up easily. -Doesn't get hot under load. -Supports other firmware. -Reset button is handy. -Multicoloured LEDs let you know what's up.

Weaknesses of the product

-Plastic feels a little cheap. -Wifi range is a little short (for me anyways).

Additional Comments

Never tried the default firmware, but it works flawlessly with Toastman's Tomato firmware builds (http://goo.gl/1ZjR8 and http://goo.gl/FYOx4). Been using it for a year with no problems. I've got the 3500L (N) upstairs with a 520GU (G) downstairs as a repeater (also running Tomato). Can be easily modded to fit antennas (http://goo.gl/wy0Td). More info here: http://goo.gl/aiWRz

Love it!

Submitted on Friday, December 02, 2011
By Ben
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Had no trouble setting up my wireless Simple fast yet powerful modern web interface Had no trouble getting anything to connect Just keeps on working, has not had to power cycle it or anything.

Weaknesses of the product

None found yet

Additional Comments

I never had a NetGear router before. But hey, this one is super. Just seems to work and does not give me any hassles. Had a Belkin before this, I am going to drive over that one with the car.

Good router.

Submitted on Thursday, June 02, 2011
By Peter
From Winnipeg

Strengths of the product

Ability to run custom firmware.
USB connection (I have a printer connected to it).
Stable and fast.

Weaknesses of the product

No dual band.

Additional Comments

Good replacement for the Linksys router (wrt54g).
Fast and stable.