Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E Soundcard

MX20617 Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E Soundcard
MX20617 Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E Soundcard

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 16 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission

Great Sound Card

Submitted on Sunday, July 16, 2017
By Jeff
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Great Sound

Weaknesses of the product

Additional Comments

For me it's been great. I care about sound quality. I the bass management and Dolby Prologic II upmixing are great. I have not tried the Dolby Digital live on this card. If your receiver / amplifiers have analog inputs just uses this card's analog outputs, they are fantastic and very likely better than getting your receiver t0 do the digital to analog conversion. I own 2 DX's and one ST + 6 ch. add-on board. I have been using well known 3rd party drivers for them. I have never tried the EAX feature.

Decent Card but not EAX compatible

Submitted on Thursday, September 17, 2015
By Adam
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Clean, crisp sound for music. Quality electronics on board Low Profile

Weaknesses of the product

ASUS craptastic drivers DS3D GX 2.0 Garbage (could never get it to work properly, hisses and pops and crazy reverb were always apparent if the game would even run) Card doesn't even fit properly. SPDIF shared with line/mic in port Dolby Digital 'features' are half-baked at best

Additional Comments

ASUS drivers are terrible (as seems to be ASUS's MO). Features that are on the box as advertised for this card don't actually work properly. I could not get the card to decode Dolby Digital signals, and when set to "Dolby Digital Live" for use with a HT receiver, the sound was muddy and not at all like a proper Dolby signal. Does not actually support any EAX, this is an outright lie on ASUS's part. Disappointed, would not recommend for the price.

Poor fit

Submitted on Tuesday, October 14, 2014
By Chase
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

- Great sound out of this card.. that is once you finally get it recognized and configured.

Weaknesses of the product

- Requires a power source. - Did not work with Windows 7 Pro. - Drivers are poor. - When inserted into the PCI-E 1X slot the card did not align properly with the case. When securing it in with the small screw it dislodges from the 1X slot. I had it replaced under warranty and the replacement was exactly the same. I tried the card out in my friends motherboard & case and the same problem existed.

Additional Comments

I would personally stay away from this card.

WARNING: Not Compatible with Windows 7

Submitted on Thursday, May 08, 2014
By HyperLight Research
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Amazing hardware

Weaknesses of the product

Bad drivers cripple the card

Additional Comments

In late 2013 Microsoft changed the sound driver architecture in Windows 7, and as of 2014 ASUS still hasn't fixed the drivers for ANY of their Xonar cards. This causes the card to output sound at 8KHz with *massive* compression artifacts, no matter what the settings. It sounds like a bad Skype call. Stay FAR away from this card and ALL Xonar cards by ASUS. Google "Asus Xonar Stutter" for more info.

good card

Submitted on Wednesday, January 23, 2013
By narly
From calgary

Strengths of the product

low profile low cost connector for front panel audio

Weaknesses of the product

requires a power source

Additional Comments

this is a decent card that i installed to replace a soundblaster that wasnt working in a win8 pro 64bit system. worked far better than the onboard sound. immediately after install the sound on the system was much deeper, good upgrade. use the drivers from the asus web site, not the ones from the disk. good sound from the front audio (thisi is an issue with other cards), the extra connector for the front panel audio is a nice touch.

Very good sound

Submitted on Friday, February 18, 2011
By Richard
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Windows 7 x86/x64 compatible
Powered PCIe is far better than PCI
Sounds ten times better than my motherboard's stock sound output
Low profile
Very reasonably priced
Very current (2010) driver support from ASUS

Weaknesses of the product

For some reason the mounting plate on the card does not line up with the back of my computer case. The plate with the speaker outputs is crooked and I have no idea why nor do I really care.

Additional Comments

I thought my BOSE speaker setup sounded pretty good on the motherboard audio but I had no idea how much better those BOSE could sound. It's like going from a cheap stereo to an expensive stereo for under $100.

Works in Linux!

Submitted on Friday, February 12, 2010
By Brad
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Works 100% out of the box in Ubuntu (Mythbuntu) 9.10

Weaknesses of the product

Optical out is combined with Mic In
No coax out

Additional Comments

Card works 100% under *buntu 9.10, optical works but is not an ideal setup - uses a plastic adapter to go from the mic in to the optical out. A seperate optical and coax out would be best, but it does the job!

Great card!!!

Submitted on Saturday, January 23, 2010
By WhippWhapp
From Cowtown

Strengths of the product

DDL
DTS Connect
Small
Asus actually supports it! (Win7 x64 support)
Front panel audio connector

Weaknesses of the product

requires power connector
only optical spdif output

Additional Comments

Don't let the one star review scare you off, you'd think after frying 4 cards buddy would look at the rest of his rig.

I have 2 of these after going through many Creative and Auzen solutions, hands down the best.

Great Sounding Card

Submitted on Wednesday, July 15, 2009
By Gary
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

-Excellent sound quality (scored overall "Excellent" in RMAA tests)
-Light software package
-One of few sound cards with font panel connector (HDA) support
-Good value

Weaknesses of the product

-Requires additional power from a floppy power cable
-Some driver issues
-DS3D GX is buggy for some games
-Rebate is rubbish - just a prepaid MasterCard (beware)

Additional Comments

This is a very good sounding card - It definitely has better sound quality than my mobo's Realtek ALC889a, which is apparently Realtek's best integrated chip.

Overall a good buy, although drivers aren't the best, they are updated somewhat frequently. I had some older games crash when DS3D GX was enabled, but other than that and some minor issues, this card rocks.

Bang-for-buck ASIO 2.0 card

Submitted on Monday, June 01, 2009
By Scott
From St. Paul, AB

Strengths of the product

ASIO 2.0 compliant.
Low-latency
Great sound.
No bloat-ware.
Front panel connector.
Price.

Weaknesses of the product

Requires power connection to CPU (adaptor supplied).

Additional Comments

I recently started getting into recording audio on my PC. Started off using my on-board Realtek sound card and the free ASIO4ALL software to get around latency issues, but would get all sorts of pops and hissing during playback. Researched a variety of ASIO compliant cards online before settling on the Xonar DX. Price, performance and the card's front panel connector where the deciding factors in my decision. Would recommend this card whole-heartedly.