Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E Soundcard

MX20617 Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E Soundcard
MX20617 Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E Soundcard

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: 3.4 / 5 With 17 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
Thursday, April 25, 2019
By: MIkey Bikey
From: Calgary

No Good for Win 10

Strengths:

Nothing

Weaknesses:

Everything

Additional Comments:

If you are running Windows 10, run, don't walk away from this audio card. It has major issues as far as Win10 goes. The Power supply interface is a diddley 4-pin floppy pin connector which is as flimsy as (well, it's like it's 1986), attached to a very short Molex 4 pin connector) to your PSU. Good luck in getting in getting this to be compatible to your modular PSU-supplied power cables, particularly those that support PCI-E cables and SATA cables only. When you insert the CD rom to locate the drivers, you are going to get the message that there is no power to the card. Well shoot, even if Windows Control Panel/Device Manager can see the hardware inserted into a PCI-E1 slot, and it (Windows 10) manages to find a driver from the enclosed CD, your sound card (Xonar DX) is going to sound like it was engineered in the 1920's. Cudos to Windows 10 for getting even this far. The enclosed CD demo install with this audio card is going to tell you that the audio card does not have power. Well, in summary, this is not hardware suitable for Windows 10. It's simply an excuse for Asus to clear the stock from their warehouse, at the expense of the user who has followed the architecture that is represented by the hardware vendors, and of course Microsoft. I have built hundreds of PC's in the passed 25 years, and I have never seen a piece of junk that tops this card. Shop elsewhere, and as far as sound cards, avoid ASUS.
Sunday, July 16, 2017
By: Jeff
From: Edmonton

Great Sound Card

Strengths:

Great Sound

Additional Comments:

For me it's been great. I care about sound quality. I the bass management and Dolby Prologic II upmixing are great. I have not tried the Dolby Digital live on this card. If your receiver / amplifiers have analog inputs just uses this card's analog outputs, they are fantastic and very likely better than getting your receiver t0 do the digital to analog conversion. I own 2 DX's and one ST + 6 ch. add-on board. I have been using well known 3rd party drivers for them. I have never tried the EAX feature.
Thursday, September 17, 2015
By: Adam
From: Edmonton

Decent Card but not EAX compatible

Strengths:

Clean, crisp sound for music. Quality electronics on board Low Profile

Weaknesses:

ASUS craptastic drivers DS3D GX 2.0 Garbage (could never get it to work properly, hisses and pops and crazy reverb were always apparent if the game would even run) Card doesn't even fit properly. SPDIF shared with line/mic in port Dolby Digital 'features' are half-baked at best

Additional Comments:

ASUS drivers are terrible (as seems to be ASUS's MO). Features that are on the box as advertised for this card don't actually work properly. I could not get the card to decode Dolby Digital signals, and when set to "Dolby Digital Live" for use with a HT receiver, the sound was muddy and not at all like a proper Dolby signal. Does not actually support any EAX, this is an outright lie on ASUS's part. Disappointed, would not recommend for the price.
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
By: Chase
From: Edmonton

Poor fit

Strengths:

- Great sound out of this card.. that is once you finally get it recognized and configured.

Weaknesses:

- Requires a power source. - Did not work with Windows 7 Pro. - Drivers are poor. - When inserted into the PCI-E 1X slot the card did not align properly with the case. When securing it in with the small screw it dislodges from the 1X slot. I had it replaced under warranty and the replacement was exactly the same. I tried the card out in my friends motherboard & case and the same problem existed.

Additional Comments:

I would personally stay away from this card.
Thursday, May 08, 2014
By: HyperLight Research
From: Calgary

WARNING: Not Compatible with Windows 7

Strengths:

Amazing hardware

Weaknesses:

Bad drivers cripple the card

Additional Comments:

In late 2013 Microsoft changed the sound driver architecture in Windows 7, and as of 2014 ASUS still hasn't fixed the drivers for ANY of their Xonar cards. This causes the card to output sound at 8KHz with *massive* compression artifacts, no matter what the settings. It sounds like a bad Skype call. Stay FAR away from this card and ALL Xonar cards by ASUS. Google "Asus Xonar Stutter" for more info.
Wednesday, January 23, 2013
By: narly
From: calgary

good card

Strengths:

low profile low cost connector for front panel audio

Weaknesses:

requires a power source

Additional Comments:

this is a decent card that i installed to replace a soundblaster that wasnt working in a win8 pro 64bit system. worked far better than the onboard sound. immediately after install the sound on the system was much deeper, good upgrade. use the drivers from the asus web site, not the ones from the disk. good sound from the front audio (thisi is an issue with other cards), the extra connector for the front panel audio is a nice touch.
Friday, February 18, 2011
By: Richard
From: Calgary

Very good sound

Strengths:

Windows 7 x86/x64 compatible
Powered PCIe is far better than PCI
Sounds ten times better than my motherboard's stock sound output
Low profile
Very reasonably priced
Very current (2010) driver support from ASUS

Weaknesses:

For some reason the mounting plate on the card does not line up with the back of my computer case. The plate with the speaker outputs is crooked and I have no idea why nor do I really care.

Additional Comments:

I thought my BOSE speaker setup sounded pretty good on the motherboard audio but I had no idea how much better those BOSE could sound. It's like going from a cheap stereo to an expensive stereo for under $100.
Friday, February 12, 2010
By: Brad
From: Calgary

Works in Linux!

Strengths:

Works 100% out of the box in Ubuntu (Mythbuntu) 9.10

Weaknesses:

Optical out is combined with Mic In
No coax out

Additional Comments:

Card works 100% under *buntu 9.10, optical works but is not an ideal setup - uses a plastic adapter to go from the mic in to the optical out. A seperate optical and coax out would be best, but it does the job!
Saturday, January 23, 2010
By: WhippWhapp
From: Cowtown

Great card!!!

Strengths:

DDL
DTS Connect
Small
Asus actually supports it! (Win7 x64 support)
Front panel audio connector

Weaknesses:

requires power connector
only optical spdif output

Additional Comments:

Don't let the one star review scare you off, you'd think after frying 4 cards buddy would look at the rest of his rig.

I have 2 of these after going through many Creative and Auzen solutions, hands down the best.
Wednesday, July 15, 2009
By: Gary
From: Calgary

Great Sounding Card

Strengths:

-Excellent sound quality (scored overall "Excellent" in RMAA tests)
-Light software package
-One of few sound cards with font panel connector (HDA) support
-Good value

Weaknesses:

-Requires additional power from a floppy power cable
-Some driver issues
-DS3D GX is buggy for some games
-Rebate is rubbish - just a prepaid MasterCard (beware)

Additional Comments:

This is a very good sounding card - It definitely has better sound quality than my mobo's Realtek ALC889a, which is apparently Realtek's best integrated chip.

Overall a good buy, although drivers aren't the best, they are updated somewhat frequently. I had some older games crash when DS3D GX was enabled, but other than that and some minor issues, this card rocks.