Adata XPG GAMMIX S70 BLADE PCI-E 4x4 NVMe M.2 SSD, 1TB

MX00118290 XPG GAMMIX S70 BLADE PCI-E 4x4 NVMe M.2 SSD, 1TB
MX00118290 XPG GAMMIX S70 BLADE PCI-E 4x4 NVMe M.2 SSD, 1TB MX00118290 XPG GAMMIX S70 BLADE PCI-E 4x4 NVMe M.2 SSD, 1TB MX00118290 XPG GAMMIX S70 BLADE PCI-E 4x4 NVMe M.2 SSD, 1TB MX00118290 XPG GAMMIX S70 BLADE PCI-E 4x4 NVMe M.2 SSD, 1TB

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: 3.5 / 5 With 8 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please only review product(s) you have used or owned.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
  • Review was not provided in exchange for promotional or commercial reimbursement (i.e. monetary, gift cards, free or discounted products).
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
  • 1
Wednesday, January 19, 2022
By: Carlo
From: Winnipeg

Failed after 2 months

Strengths:

I'll let you know when I find any.

Weaknesses:

Started showing signs of failure within weeks of installation.

Additional Comments:

I purchased this during the black friday sales in November 2021. This worked great for the first week or so, but became unstable. Initially I thought this was more due to Windows 11 drivers than the actual drive. I mean, it shouldn't fail that quickly. After a few weeks of instability. The BIOS would see the device, but windows would not. After a reboot windows would miraculously see it again and all was fine for awhile until the next event. This went on for awhile, and then suddenly started working without issue again! WHOOT (but not so fast - the plot thickens). After this period of calm - about a month and a bit, windows suddenly stopped seeing it all together again two days ago. In checking the logs it shows that it is not starting or initializing properly. I've reseated the drive. This time even the bios is having issues recognising it. Sometimes it sees it, sometimes it doesn't. I don't recall if I have extended warranty on this or not,so I opened an RMA with ADATA. I'll probably not trust the replacement after this incident however. It was my game drive luckily and no critical data was on it. I had it installed in an ASUS Gaming TUF506 laptop that I purchased new a year ago.
Tuesday, December 28, 2021
By: KENT
From: EDMONTON

TERRIBLE WILL NEVER BUY AGAIN

Strengths:

0

Weaknesses:

EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS M.2

Additional Comments:

so i purchased this m.2 for my wife computer.. we instaleld in and nothing would detect it .. i spent hours and hours with adata help support giving alot of miss guided information.. even info that would brick my computer i just laughed when id hear this.. 4 different techs each with their own bad advice. i spent 3 days trying everything i could to get it to work. tried in every m.2 slot... confirmed my mm.2 slots worked with nother m.2 .and testing it in another computer to have it not detect it aswell... bad right out of the box ill be returning this today .. and hopefully going with a better brand ... sad to see this and i was reccomdded this by memx
Tuesday, December 21, 2021
By: Dave
From: Winnipeg

Hilderman

Strengths:

Fastest, M.2 I've purchased to date (SN 850 black is my other drive, which is no slouch) Runs cool. Price is unbeatable. I really appreciated the sale staff recommending this drive to me, as it was not on my radar.

Weaknesses:

none

Additional Comments:

Tempted to purchase another and sell my other drives.
Friday, November 26, 2021
By: Ken Kirkpatrick
From: Victoria

Revised: Works Perfectly on my PCIE 4.0 Motherboard

Additional Comments:

I am revising my original review. There seems to be a boot problem with this NVME and my ASUS TUF Gaming Z590 motherboard. I have to reset the power after the 1st boot, then on the 2nd boot it finds the S70, and sometimes I need to load the defaults on the motherboard. The only way to prove the problem is to try another NVME, but after reading the other review here, it is looking like the S70 Blade is the culprit. It doesn’t always get detected in the bios, otherwise it runs without errors and is very fast.
Tuesday, November 2, 2021
By: Andrew
From: Calgary

Works with PS5

Strengths:

Appears to work in PS5 just fine. No issues after approx 3 weeks of use.

Weaknesses:

None for this use-case (PS5). It either works or it doesn't. The PS5 does not report the advertised throughput, though.

Additional Comments:

Remains to be seen if the included heat spreader is making any appreciable difference. Giving this 5 stars as a PS5 SSD. YMMV in PCs.
Monday, October 11, 2021
By: Jesse. R
From: Edmonton

Fast Gen 4 SSD at great Price

Strengths:

- Fast - Incredible cost value As of right now this is one of the cheapest SSD's you can buy in terms of cost/speed.. I routinely get 7450 Read / 5500 Write when I test it in my system. The 1 TB version of this drive gives better performance than a lot of SSD's that cost $50-$100 more.

Weaknesses:

- Not a weakness but make sure your motherboard supports PCI-E Gen 4.

Additional Comments:

The review below where the guy talked about the BIOS issue for some of these is fixed with a simple Firmware update from their website that takes 2 minutes to do.
Tuesday, September 28, 2021
By: Ken
From: Victoria

Works perfectly on PCIe 4.0 motherboard

Strengths:

This is my boot drive on an ASUS TUF GAMING Z590-PLUS WIFI with a m.2 slot on the PCIe 4.0 bus. Works perfectly, no issues with bios detection. Boots to Windows 10 in seconds.

Weaknesses:

Temp of this m.2 has so far reached a high of 41C, warm, but well within the 70C operating range.

Additional Comments:

Buy it with no worries.
Sunday, September 5, 2021
By: Annoyamouse
From: Calgary

Problematic

Strengths:

Very fast Cost is decent

Weaknesses:

Doesn't always detect in the BIOS. On a cold start, it's found with no issues. If you are booting from USB to restore an image to the drive, this drive is not selectable. If you go back to the BIOS, it's not found. You have fully power off / on in order to see it again. Once I swapped to a different 4.0 NVME (WD SN850), the restore USB finds this drive with no issues whatsoever.

Additional Comments:

Too many weaknesses to continue using. Avoid if possible
  • 1