MSI MAG274QRF-QD 27in 16:9 Rapid IPS Quantum Dot Flat Gaming Monitor, 165Hz 1ms, 1440P QHD, Height Adjustable, G-Sync Compatible

MX00115118 MAG274QRF-QD 27in 16:9 Rapid IPS Quantum Dot Flat Gaming Monitor, 165Hz 1ms, 1440P QHD, Height Adjustable, G-Sync Compatible
MX00115118 MAG274QRF-QD 27in 16:9 Rapid IPS Quantum Dot Flat Gaming Monitor, 165Hz 1ms, 1440P QHD, Height Adjustable, G-Sync Compatible MX00115118 MAG274QRF-QD 27in 16:9 Rapid IPS Quantum Dot Flat Gaming Monitor, 165Hz 1ms, 1440P QHD, Height Adjustable, G-Sync Compatible MX00115118 MAG274QRF-QD 27in 16:9 Rapid IPS Quantum Dot Flat Gaming Monitor, 165Hz 1ms, 1440P QHD, Height Adjustable, G-Sync Compatible MX00115118 MAG274QRF-QD 27in 16:9 Rapid IPS Quantum Dot Flat Gaming Monitor, 165Hz 1ms, 1440P QHD, Height Adjustable, G-Sync Compatible

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: 4.9 / 5 With 14 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please only review product(s) you have used or owned.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
  • Review was not provided in exchange for promotional or commercial reimbursement (i.e. monetary, gift cards, free or discounted products).
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
Captcha
Tuesday, May 10, 2022
By: Alec
From: Vancouver

Great competitor in affordable 1440p 144hz+ IPS monitor category

Strengths:

Great quality and lots of features for the price. Decent stock stand with rotation and height adjustment with option for VESA mount. Colours up to par with Nano IPS monitors and can use sRGB mode with firmware update. Additional optional features like RGB and Gaming OSD.

Weaknesses:

Requires calibration since out of box settings are meh. Need to flash firmware update to acquire sRGB mode (can potentially brick monitor).

Additional Comments:

I recently bought a new graphics card and it became overkill for my previous monitor, so I began looking at 1440p 144hz monitors. This monitor ticked all the boxes for me as it is a 1440p 165hz IPS monitor with G-sync compatibility at an affordable price compared to other monitors with the same characteristics. Other similar monitors I considered were the Dell S2721DGF which was always out of stock, and the LG 27GL850-B which I refunded because I didn't like the quality of everything outside of it's panel.
Tuesday, May 10, 2022
By: Vu Le
From: Vaughan

Good Monitor

Strengths:

This monitor is very nice. Screen color is very beautiful. Design of monitor is beautiful too.

Additional Comments:

I really like it. I will recommend to my friend.
Monday, May 9, 2022
By: Maxim
From: Etobicoke

Excellent monitor

Strengths:

Color gamut exceptionally wide. High refresh rate. USB type C connection.

Weaknesses:

No weaknesses so far.

Additional Comments:

Recommend this monitor to anyone looking for high refresh rate and wide color gamut.
Sunday, May 1, 2022
By: Andrew Kipsang
From: Edmonton, AB

Very satisfied purchase

Strengths:

I am very happy with what I received, the 1440p 165 Hz screen is fast and responsive and just beautiful to game on. I am happy with the number of ports available including the type-c that you can connect to a laptop.

Weaknesses:

The power cord is a little short though and it doesn't come with speakers.

Additional Comments:

Overall great purchase and I am a very satisfied customer.
Tuesday, March 29, 2022
By: Sebastian
From: Calgary

Great Monitor, Wish It Had Volume and Image Scaling Controls

Strengths:

- Supports sRGB color accuracy with newest firmware - Very responsive and detailed

Weaknesses:

- Does not have volume controls for headphone jack - Integer-based scaling and nearest neighbor scaling would be nice on resolutions below 1440p

Additional Comments:

I got this monitor a week ago from today and I am very pleased with the results. I got it to work excellently with my gaming laptop setup over USB-C Alt Display at 165Hz. My main concerns however is that there isn't an internal volume control for the 3.5mm headphone jack provided in the monitor menu. An external volume control knob is what I have been using, but it would have been nice just to use the monitor as is out of the box. Not doing so makes all the audio extremely loud on headphones. If it is possible, I would also love to see more customization for scaling options below 1440p. It would be lovely to have integer-based scaling and nearest-neighboor scaling options available. This would be ideal for consoles like the Nintendo Switch and other older consoles so they can have additional clarity.
Sunday, March 27, 2022
By: Sebastian
From: Calgary

A must buy! Wish it had a few extra features however

Strengths:

- New firmware adds sRGB color support for more accurate colors on more types of content - Monitor is very responsive with no detectable input latency

Weaknesses:

- No in-menu controls for volume through 3.5mm Headphone Jack - No option for integer-based and nearest-neighbor scaling on resolutions below 1440p

Additional Comments:

I upgraded from a previous 1080p 144hz monitor to this one by MSI and I am very happy with the results. The monitor can get very bright and the picture looks amazing with the new firmware that came out not too long ago. I do wish however that this monitor could have internal/OSD controls to raise/lower the 3.5mm volume from the headphone jack. This is an easy fix with an external volume knob controller, but I wish it came as a pre-existing feature. I also do not know if it is possible, but it would be nice to be able to adjust how the monitor scales resolutions below 1440p. I use this monitor with a Nintendo Switch as well as other some older consoles like the Dreamcast (through an HDMI mod). I wish I could have options for integer-based scaling and nearest neighbor scaling. This would be incredibly useful for 480p/720p sources which can fit perfectly in the 1440p window frame. Overall, I highly recommend this monitor for both PC and Console use. The new firmware is a great update to an already good monitor!
Wednesday, February 23, 2022
By: Warren
From: Calgary

Great colors, especially after basic calibration

Strengths:

Colors really pop on this monitor Allows clamping to sRBG via OSD Very bright 2 HDMI ports for consoles

Weaknesses:

Brightness uniformity isn't perfect compared to my older TN monitor but really only noticeable if you have something bright in the center of your screen

Additional Comments:

Great monitor for the price with nice customization PS5 looks great on it too
Tuesday, February 15, 2022
By: Ace
From: Vancouver

Great gaming monitor, colours are just amazing

Strengths:

Just exceptional colours (wow) Great refresh rate 2k g-sync compatible Solid stand and good adjustments Lots of inputs

Weaknesses:

Bought same model but non QD version and it had a bad pixel out of the box so I returned it (this one was perfect) While screen goes almost to edge (1mm case border) the screen image doesn't, about 5mm border.

Additional Comments:

Overall I would really recommend this monitor. I think the extra price for the QD version is worth it as the colours are just amazing. The border is a bit wide, 5mm, so may not be great for multiple monitor setup, but I only plan a single monitor setup so not an issue. Only complaint I have is that MSI does not have zero pixel policy according to their website (https://www.msi.com/page/warranty/monitor) says "MSI Monitor do not have 0 pixel defect warranty DOT Policy : Bright Dot > 3 Dots, Bright dot gap < L >=15mm". For a monitor this price I really expect it to have zero dead pixels. Crossed fingers I don't have to deal with any dead pixels after store return policy ends.
Monday, January 17, 2022
By: David
From: Edmonton

Wow! The colors on this monitor are great. Sharp everything and did I mention the pOpping colors. They pop right out of the screen.

Strengths:

Colors, sharpness, weight of stand is high so it is very stable.

Weaknesses:

The DP cable it came with is maybe 3 feet long (1 meter) and that's a bit short.

Additional Comments:

Great monitor.
Sunday, July 11, 2021
By: Jeremy
From: Calgary

mr

Strengths:

Pros: very vibrant The screen looks good is reactive like a premium monitor Very low latency 165 Hz Flat Almost no IPS glow No dead pixels Excellent color reduction after calibration. Amazing for gaming. Good Viewing angles

Weaknesses:

Cons: Needs some calibration to make it look better Short in-box cables

Additional Comments:

My last monitor was a 10 year old Dynex tv, so this is a huge upgrade that seemed to have good reviews everywhere. Recommended as one of the best in the price range. This is gorgeous in comparison/ I am very impressed with this monitor. The screen looks great, and is fast and responsive. I was hesitant after reading the reviews about dead pixels, but experienced none. IPS glow is practically non existent I would definitely recommend this monitor. It does take a powerful GPU to hit 165Hz.