0 items ($0.00) in your cart
MX36934
  • MX36934: 2TB Desktop HDD SATA III w/ 64MB Cache
  • MX36934: 2TB Desktop HDD SATA III w/ 64MB Cache
  • MX36934: 2TB Desktop HDD SATA III w/ 64MB Cache
  • MX36934: 2TB Desktop HDD SATA III w/ 64MB Cache

2TB Desktop HDD SATA III w/ 64MB Cache

From 15 Customer Reviews
MX36934
$109.99
Instant Savings ($15.00)
Sale Ends: Jul 25, 2014 23:59 MDT
Only$94.99
  • SKU: MX36934
  • ILC: ST2000DM001
  • Part #: ST2000DM001
Add To Cart
Qty:
Limit 2 per customer
Availability:
Calgary Region
  • Calgary NE: 10+
  • Calgary NW: 10+
  • Calgary SE: 10+
Online Store: 10+
Accuracy of information cannot be guaranteed.
1406245285000 true Store Inventory Updated
MX36934

Customer Reviews

Average Rating:
3/5
With 15 Customer Reviews
2

Great drives, other must have gotten a bad batch

5/5
 7/13/2013 8:22:27 PM
Vlad from Winnipeg writes:
Strengths:
-Cheap -Quiet -Quite Fast -Works Well in RAID1
Weaknesses:
I had to update the firmware to remove the chirping noise many talk about. Not an issue though, since anybody should look into updating firmware on new products. If you don't feel comfortable doing it, get an experienced tech to do it.
Summary:
Like I said, there were the chirping issues, which were fixed with firmware update. Like some have said, there must have been a bad batch of drives or something for those who complained. Again, this is common of drive manufacturing. Just a common hiccup. Great prices, easy to replace. They are speedy on their own and just as fast in my RAID1, which is nice. They played very nice with my Intel hardware driven RAID.

So So

3/5
 2/18/2013 3:37:29 PM
Scott Coburn from Medicine Hat writes:
Strengths:
Cheap 2TB drive. Very fast when they work.
Weaknesses:
Purchased two of these drives under the bundle deal. One for each son. Son #1 wanted everything left as it was, so I imaged his original drive and wrote that image to this new one. Everything worked as expected and he's been running it for a couple of days. Son #2 downloads and installs / uninstalls indiscriminately, so we both felt that a full re-install would be better. Installed new drive and computer takes a long time to POST. During POST drive detection it gives an error. DOA.
Summary:
So these drives are batting 50% thus far. To be fair my wife's computer has the same drive in it that I bought at FutureScrap over six months ago and it works fine. The upside was that I called ME and the girl I spoke with was excellent. I will return the drive and once they confirm that the drive has shipped, they will ship my replacement. Good thing too, I return to work Sunday (overseas) and won't be back until April. Will update this once things iron out.

About 20% Failure Rate after 6 months

2/5
 2/11/2013 12:29:30 PM
Grant from Winnipeg writes:
Strengths:
Quick, big and cheap drives, can get sustained writes over 200MB/s in RAID10. Similar speeds to WD Black drives, for the same price as the WD Blue (when I purchased). Using a lot of these drives in "archive" file servers, not high usage machines, but on 24/7.
Weaknesses:
Unacceptably high failure rates. Out of about 60 drives, have had to send at least 10 back to Seagate in the first year. Hasn't resulted in data loss yet, and if it were mission critical we wouldn't use consumer-grade drives, but still far below what I'd expect. Running similar setups in same environment with 1TB WD Blue SATA drives and haven't had a failure yet in over 2 years.
Summary:
Decent size, price and speed, but get used to filling out the RMA form on Seagate's website. I'm switching to WD Blue for good.

Works flawlessly

5/5
 2/10/2013 11:03:16 AM
Rosco from Edmonton writes:
Strengths:
65 MB/s transfer speeds between two drives. Cheap price at $99.00.
Weaknesses:
After running 2 drives for a period of time, there were no issues.
Summary:
From reading the other reviews, there must be a bad batch of these drives. That is normal with any product you buy. Sometimes you get a bad batch where many will fail. This could be attributed to many things, such as the robot applying grease had some issues for a short period and some drives got past the quality control. One person ruled out Seagate forever ... funny. It's a hard drive and all major manufacturers will have some bad batches from time to time.

Good Drive

4/5
 2/6/2013 5:24:17 AM
Roger from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
Price
Weaknesses:
None so far
Summary:
For 100 $ this is a good drive. No issues so far and its been in my PC for a few weeks. The noise issue some report has not appeared.

A simple fix

4/5
 2/6/2013 12:30:29 AM
Xernion from edmonton writes:
Strengths:
Strong and fast read/write speeds. Firmware is easily updated. Quiet drive.
Weaknesses:
typical chirp from factory firmware
Summary:
besides the factory chirp. Seagate has a great updated to the firmware to solve this. This drive is strong and fast. No real complaints since its typical for any tech to make sure that the firmware is up to date. Installed 6 in raid after having 3 wd fail within the first year. Running these 24/7 and still going.

No complaints, great product so far!

5/5
 2/3/2013 8:22:35 AM
Vincent from Stony Plain writes:
Strengths:
-Large Capacity -Have seen consistent transfer speeds of 124mb per second between this drive and a 500GB Barracuda 7200rpm, which I thought was pretty good for a platter drive -One of the better capacity-to-price ratios I've seen
Weaknesses:
-Not as fast as Solid-State drives?
Summary:
Haven't had either of my Barracuda drives for years yet, so I can't comment on the longevity. In any case, I have no complaints on value, performance, noise or anything else, really, at this point. Would recommend to others.

2TB Seagate drive

5/5
 12/26/2012 12:05:33 PM
Brennan from St. Albert writes:
Strengths:
-Quiet -Good read/write speeds -1 TB per disk, so there is only 2 platters in the drive for fast read/write access
Weaknesses:
nothing at all
Summary:
Wow, going from 74.4 GB's to 2 TB's is a difference, a huge difference! I don't know what to do with all this space!

First one defective

1/5
 11/2/2012 11:56:33 AM
Max Grossenbacher from Lethbridge Albertra writes:
Strengths:
Low price 64 MB cache 7200 RPM
Weaknesses:
Issues with firmware that is on shipped devices
Summary:
I have to give the harddrive a one star rating until I receive a working one. My current one, although all tests say it's healthy, can't even play videos and is constantly clicking, obviously a defective unit.

these are hit and miss

1/5
 10/25/2012 7:06:08 AM
brad from winnipeg writes:
Strengths:
none from my experience
Weaknesses:
seems that some people have good luck and some have bad. i bought one and it lasted less than a week, it chirped and got worse day by day until it died. took it back for a replacement and the replacement was noisy also. returned that one also and got a 1tb version. the 1 tb is perfect, used a few times in builds and havnt had any problems
Summary:
i have always liked seagate until now, but these are garbage as far as im conerned