0 items ($0.00) in your cart
MX36849
  • MX36849: 3TB Desktop HDD SATA III w/ 64MB Cache
  • MX36849: 3TB Desktop HDD SATA III w/ 64MB Cache
  • MX36849: 3TB Desktop HDD SATA III w/ 64MB Cache
  • MX36849: 3TB Desktop HDD SATA III w/ 64MB Cache

3TB Desktop HDD SATA III w/ 64MB Cache

From 20 Customer Reviews
MX36849
$149.99
Instant Savings ($35.00)
Sale Ends: Jul 25, 2014 23:59 MDT
Only$114.99
  • SKU: MX36849
  • ILC: ST3000DM001
  • Part #: ST3000DM001
Add To Cart
Qty:
Limit 2 per customer
Availability:
Calgary Region
  • Calgary NE: 10+
  • Calgary NW: 10+
  • Calgary SE: 10+
Online Store: 10+
Accuracy of information cannot be guaranteed.
1406250105000 true Store Inventory Updated
MX36849

Customer Reviews

Average Rating:
3/5
With 20 Customer Reviews
2

Failed after 2 years

2/5
 7/21/2014 8:24:13 PM
phapon from Kamloops writes:
Strengths:
It was plenty fast enough and large enough for my needs.
Weaknesses:
Unreliable. Failed after just two years (warranty was 1 year.)
Summary:
It was failing for some time, but I misread the signs -- thought it was the portable drive sitting beside it that was occasionally clicking rhythmically. I was wrong. If you use this drive, have a good back up system. I have to rate this drive low because I'm still relying on Hitachi and Western Digital drives which are twice the age of this one. No one wants to accept a short life-span to gain a large capacity.

Great Until it failed

1/5
 6/17/2014 8:02:15 PM
Thanh from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
Massive storage at an inexpensive price and at 7200 RPM.
Weaknesses:
Reliability, it failed after about 6 months.
Summary:
I had it as my data drive for 6 months before it failed out of the blue. Lucky I paid for in store replacement. Not my first bad experience with Seagate and it has been a while since I own a Seagate. I'll be a while longer before I own another one. Guys at memory express should post warranty return statistic to help us make a better decision.

Not so reliable in a NAS device

2/5
 5/8/2014 9:51:16 PM
Bruce from Edmonton writes:
Strengths:
Good Storage, Good Speed.
Weaknesses:
Not so reliable. Purchased four 3TB drive 18 months ago. One failed 6 weeks, the second one failed this week. I am afraid the other two drive will fail soon.
Summary:
I will be looking for a different drive going forward.

Died after 1 year

1/5
 12/25/2013 7:25:17 AM
Rajiv from Red Deer writes:
Strengths:
Got it for a good price
Weaknesses:
Bought it July 12 2012 and it died on November 30 2013, so just over a year. It only comes with a 1 year warranty through Seagate so that is that.
Summary:
Check warranty, I had bad luck with this drive

Drive is great... Until it fails

2/5
 12/1/2013 10:24:52 PM
Josh from Edmonton writes:
Strengths:
Lots of space and a cheap purchase price.
Weaknesses:
Poor quality, fails if you look at it wrong. If you buy this drive, expect to count the lifespan in months not years.
Summary:
Failed after about 11 months, buy the extended warranty. Seagate's quality is very poor and should be used only for non-essential data. If you're using this as your primary backup, you're buying some future hassles. Don't bother, just spring for a more reliable company.

Lots of space for cheap

5/5
 8/19/2013 2:40:17 PM
Scott from Lethbridge writes:
Strengths:
I mean, it's 3 terabytes of storage. I paid less than $120 after price matching (which is why I love mem exp.) Decent speeds (~120 MB/s when transferring stuff from a 1 TB WD Black to this (my SSD had about the same transfer speed)).
Weaknesses:
A lot of people complain about failure rates. Blah blah blah, if it fails then warranty will cover it. I mean, if you are going to be using this for very important backup, chances are you shouldn't be using the cheapest drive you can find
Summary:
If you need a lot of cheap storage, buy this.

Yep, you need space, you get THIS.

4/5
 6/15/2013 10:37:42 AM
Kurt from Edmonton writes:
Strengths:
Value.
Weaknesses:
Bizarre clicking noise 4% of the time.
Summary:
If you need a new hard drive. Get this one.

Great drive

5/5
 4/27/2013 2:33:15 PM
Scott from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
Makes a great second drive in my machine, for data storage and games.
Weaknesses:
Somewhat slow spin up time, not a big deal but noticeable when the drive is idle and has to spin up to load data.
Summary:
I haven't had a Seagate drive fail on me in over 2 years (knock on wood...) Can't complain at all for the price.

Works for me

5/5
 3/30/2013 2:18:56 PM
James T Snell from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
Ideal GB/$
Weaknesses:
Summary:
I have three of these drives, two in my file server and one attached to my Airport Extreme. It's been a few months and all seems well. I'm very pleased with them.

Good value, but check for firmware update

3/5
 2/21/2013 12:52:29 PM
Victor from Edmonton writes:
Strengths:
Fast (Usually) Quiet Good value
Weaknesses:
Uncertain reliability Firmware update needed to fix intermittent noise issue
Summary:
Ordered drive online and it arrived DOA (drive made abnormal noises and motherboard could not detect). Exchanged for second drive, which has run OK for 8 months now, but would make occassional "chirp" noise. Recently found firmware update CC4H through web search that is supposed to fix this problem: http://knowledge.seagate.com/articles/en_US/FAQ/223651en (Note update is for part number 9YN166. Newer drives with may already have firmware fix.)