0 items ($0.00) in your cart
MX36849
  • MX36849: 3TB Desktop HDD SATA III w/ 64MB Cache
  • MX36849: 3TB Desktop HDD SATA III w/ 64MB Cache
  • MX36849: 3TB Desktop HDD SATA III w/ 64MB Cache
  • MX36849: 3TB Desktop HDD SATA III w/ 64MB Cache

3TB Desktop HDD SATA III w/ 64MB Cache

From 34 Customer Reviews
MX36849
$149.99
Instant Savings ($25.00)
Sale Ends: Aug 31, 2016 21:59 MDT
Only$124.99
  • SKU: MX36849
  • ILC: ST3000DM001
  • Part #: ST3000DM001
Add To Cart
Qty:
Limit 2 per customer
Availability:
Calgary Region
Online Store: 2
Accuracy of information cannot be guaranteed.
1472247706000 true Store Inventory Updated
MX36849

Customer Reviews

Average Rating:
2/5
With 34 Customer Reviews
4

Stay Away

1/5
 5/30/2016 7:41:28 PM
Rob C from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
Inexpensive
Weaknesses:
Very high failure rate. Purchased 11 drives for my NAS and Server about 3 years ago. Over the last 2.5 years every single drive has failed.
Summary:
Replaced every drive with WD or HGST, much longer warranty, no failures on any of them. Spend a few extra bucks on a better drive. You truly do get what you pay for.

all about seagate hard drives

1/5
 5/18/2016 11:26:47 PM
Oleg Gritsev from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
Cheap. and nothing positive about Seagate.
Weaknesses:
U N R E L I A B L E !!!! . May fall at any time. Non recomment at all ! WD much better ! High Failure rate. Complicated and expensive data recovery from these hard drives.
Summary:
Good for temporary data transfer, second copy and desktop operation if you have backup. I am not recomment keep important data and use it in important data storage like NAS, DAS ,RAID. I used it before in RAID array and one day i have 3 hard drive faled from 8 drives at same time when i turn power on one day ! to be honest - Seagate became like a rubbish for me.

1.5 years till dead.

1/5
 12/30/2015 10:45:04 AM
Trevor B from Edmonton writes:
Strengths:
Cheap.
Weaknesses:
Dead with limited use as a storage drive after 1.5 years. Follows the rest of the larger format drives and my experience with them. They don't seem to last as long as the WD's I've had in the past.
Summary:
Will not be purchasing another large format Seagate drive even if the price is low. Don't waste your money on these drives. Pay the little bit extra to skip the frustration.

DON'T BUY

1/5
 9/30/2015 9:24:25 PM
Ryan from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
Weaknesses:
High Failure rate, all 3 that I bought are dead. DO NOT BUY
Summary:

High Failure rate!

1/5
 9/8/2015 11:33:14 AM
Larry Cushnuk from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
Reasonable capacity for the price, at the time.
Weaknesses:
I have been using Seagate drives for many many years... but have had 3 of these drives fail on me within 2 years and always outside of warranty so it has cost me a fair bit. As I was using them as a backup raid (0) set, for performance, a failure meant loss of my backups! I think I'll have to look elsewhere for reliability now too even if it means paying a bit more.
Summary:
As per the MANY similar reviews I think Seagate should be fixing this issue!!!!!!!.

Dead after 1.5 years

1/5
 8/18/2015 7:53:09 PM
LRO from Winnipeg writes:
Strengths:
Cheap
Weaknesses:
Bought four drives for my home NAS. Two drives failed after 1.5 years within 4 days of each other. Was able to buy a new drive the next day and rebuild my RAID before having the 2nd drive fail and I went thru the same exercise of rebuilding my RAID again.
Summary:

Going Strong

4/5
 7/9/2015 2:31:38 AM
Andy from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
Been running in a Synology (Hybrid Raid) for 2.5 years. About 8 hours per day Ran Crystal disk info, and looking good. Fairly quiet.
Weaknesses:
Can get hot due to 7200rpm. Keep em well ventilated for peace of mind.
Summary:
Good drive. Solid daily service for 2.5 years.

good until it failed 2 years in

2/5
 2/10/2015 1:28:35 PM
RD from Winnipeg writes:
Strengths:
decent size fairly quiet
Weaknesses:
failed after 2 years
Summary:
failed with no warning. lost whatever wasn't backed up. you basically need two of these drives mirrored just in case

High Failure Rate

1/5
 1/30/2015 7:23:10 PM
Sean E from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
None
Weaknesses:
High failure rate
Summary:
I've have two in a RAID 1 configuration and I've had to replace 2 of them in the past 2 years. It's just long-term storage like photos and such, too, not heavy use. Very low reliability.

Gets me every time...

1/5
 1/29/2015 11:36:57 PM
Nelson from Regina, SK writes:
Strengths:
- Inexpensive - Relatively quick (while functioning)
Weaknesses:
- Ridiculously high failure rate
Summary:
Out of 8 Seagate's I've bought over the last decade, 4 have bit the dust. I've never actually had a different brand fail (out of 5 other drives). Every time I swear I'm never buying one again, I get seduced by the lower price and promises of them having fixed their ways. Never again!