0 items ($0.00) in your cart
MX36849
  • MX36849: 3TB Desktop HDD SATA III w/ 64MB Cache
  • MX36849: 3TB Desktop HDD SATA III w/ 64MB Cache
  • MX36849: 3TB Desktop HDD SATA III w/ 64MB Cache
  • MX36849: 3TB Desktop HDD SATA III w/ 64MB Cache

3TB Desktop HDD SATA III w/ 64MB Cache

From 32 Customer Reviews
MX36849
$149.99
Instant Savings ($30.00)
Sale Ends: May 06, 2016 21:59 MDT
Only$119.99
  • SKU: MX36849
  • ILC: ST3000DM001
  • Part #: ST3000DM001
Add To Cart
Qty:
Limit 2 per customer
Availability:
Calgary Region
Online Store: 10+
Accuracy of information cannot be guaranteed.
1462280487000 true Store Inventory Updated
MX36849

Customer Reviews

Average Rating:
3/5
With 32 Customer Reviews
4

1.5 years till dead.

1/5
 12/30/2015 10:45:04 AM
Trevor B from Edmonton writes:
Strengths:
Cheap.
Weaknesses:
Dead with limited use as a storage drive after 1.5 years. Follows the rest of the larger format drives and my experience with them. They don't seem to last as long as the WD's I've had in the past.
Summary:
Will not be purchasing another large format Seagate drive even if the price is low. Don't waste your money on these drives. Pay the little bit extra to skip the frustration.

DON'T BUY

1/5
 9/30/2015 9:24:25 PM
Ryan from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
Weaknesses:
High Failure rate, all 3 that I bought are dead. DO NOT BUY
Summary:

High Failure rate!

1/5
 9/8/2015 11:33:14 AM
Larry Cushnuk from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
Reasonable capacity for the price, at the time.
Weaknesses:
I have been using Seagate drives for many many years... but have had 3 of these drives fail on me within 2 years and always outside of warranty so it has cost me a fair bit. As I was using them as a backup raid (0) set, for performance, a failure meant loss of my backups! I think I'll have to look elsewhere for reliability now too even if it means paying a bit more.
Summary:
As per the MANY similar reviews I think Seagate should be fixing this issue!!!!!!!.

Dead after 1.5 years

1/5
 8/18/2015 7:53:09 PM
LRO from Winnipeg writes:
Strengths:
Cheap
Weaknesses:
Bought four drives for my home NAS. Two drives failed after 1.5 years within 4 days of each other. Was able to buy a new drive the next day and rebuild my RAID before having the 2nd drive fail and I went thru the same exercise of rebuilding my RAID again.
Summary:

Going Strong

4/5
 7/9/2015 2:31:38 AM
Andy from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
Been running in a Synology (Hybrid Raid) for 2.5 years. About 8 hours per day Ran Crystal disk info, and looking good. Fairly quiet.
Weaknesses:
Can get hot due to 7200rpm. Keep em well ventilated for peace of mind.
Summary:
Good drive. Solid daily service for 2.5 years.

good until it failed 2 years in

2/5
 2/10/2015 1:28:35 PM
RD from Winnipeg writes:
Strengths:
decent size fairly quiet
Weaknesses:
failed after 2 years
Summary:
failed with no warning. lost whatever wasn't backed up. you basically need two of these drives mirrored just in case

High Failure Rate

1/5
 1/30/2015 7:23:10 PM
Sean E from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
None
Weaknesses:
High failure rate
Summary:
I've have two in a RAID 1 configuration and I've had to replace 2 of them in the past 2 years. It's just long-term storage like photos and such, too, not heavy use. Very low reliability.

Gets me every time...

1/5
 1/29/2015 11:36:57 PM
Nelson from Regina, SK writes:
Strengths:
- Inexpensive - Relatively quick (while functioning)
Weaknesses:
- Ridiculously high failure rate
Summary:
Out of 8 Seagate's I've bought over the last decade, 4 have bit the dust. I've never actually had a different brand fail (out of 5 other drives). Every time I swear I'm never buying one again, I get seduced by the lower price and promises of them having fixed their ways. Never again!

failure

1/5
 1/12/2015 11:17:09 AM
Andy from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
none that sets this drive apart from its competition
Weaknesses:
Less than two years and 1 of 2 drives has failed, the other has errors and is likely dying
Summary:
I do not recommend this drive.

Failed after 18 months

2/5
 11/4/2014 10:53:23 AM
Jeeverz from Red Deer writes:
Strengths:
Good price for lots of storage
Weaknesses:
Failure rate in INSANE!
Summary:
Buy this drive if you need lots to maybe transfer massive amounts of data temporarily. Never use as storage device.