0 items ($0.00) in your cart
MX27676
  • MX27676: 1TB Caviar Black 7200rpm SATA III w/ 64MB Cache
  • MX27676: 1TB Caviar Black 7200rpm SATA III w/ 64MB Cache
  • MX27676: 1TB Caviar Black 7200rpm SATA III w/ 64MB Cache
  • MX27676: 1TB Caviar Black 7200rpm SATA III w/ 64MB Cache

1TB Caviar Black 7200rpm SATA III w/ 64MB Cache

From 27 Customer Reviews
MX27676
$109.99
Instant Savings ($25.00)
Sale Ends: Apr 30, 2014 23:59 MDT
Only$84.99
  • SKU: MX27676
  • ILC: WD1002FAEX
  • Part #: WD1002FAEX
Add To Cart
Qty:
Limit 2 per customer
While Supplies Last Availability:
Calgary Region
  • Calgary NE: Out of Stock
  • Calgary NW: Out of Stock
  • Calgary SE: Out of Stock
Online Store: Out of Stock
Accuracy of information cannot be guaranteed.
1398237654000 true Store Inventory Updated
MX27676

Customer Reviews

Average Rating:
3/5
With 27 Customer Reviews
3

Failed after 1 year

2/5
 10/19/2013 8:49:53 AM
Dave Habros from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
Price??? 5 year warranty.
Weaknesses:
Reliability, noisy.
Summary:
Started having issues with sectors after about a year. Now it got to the point that windows cannot correct it anymore. Getting replacement shipped from WD. It seems that couple years ago they had a bad batch.

Great drive!

5/5
 8/22/2013 11:38:29 AM
Spencer from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
Runs really quiet in my case (Zalman Z11 high performance). works great with the anti vibration rubber rail grips. Runs at a very cool temp due to the 2 fans for the HDD and SSD bays the case comes with.
Weaknesses:
Nothing really has been bad for me with this drive.
Summary:
Overall 10/10 IMO. Great drive for the price.

These are good drives

5/5
 7/7/2013 2:37:40 PM
Ananoymous from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
Fast (for a HDD) I have had my drive for 4 years now. have used one in all my builds. never gave me a problem 5 year warranty
Weaknesses:
tend to run a bit warm (its a high performance drive so this is to be expected. make sure it is in a path of airflow from an intake fan) a little noisy.
Summary:
I had my drive before the flooding happened that caused these drives to become stupidly expensive. I have a feeling the people who had bad ones had theirs during or after those floods happened. also warranties were reduced. although now that everything has stabilized im glad these have 5 year warranties again

Failed after 3 years

2/5
 5/22/2013 10:12:53 AM
gary from calgary writes:
Strengths:
It didn't run super hot, but it was hotter than expected. fairly quiet.
Weaknesses:
Failed just under 3 years. I am not impressed! Drives should last longer then 3 years.
Summary:
I used it for data storage as a second drive and not as the operating system drive. So it didn't work hard. When I added a third drive and decided to use it as the internal back up it failed. Luckily I transferred all my files from it, before it failed. It failed during back up, got hot and the windows system warned me of it's impending failure.

Not a reliable drive

2/5
 5/1/2013 8:06:58 PM
Mike from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
OK...relatively fast I guess...for a spin drive I mean.
Weaknesses:
Failed within a year of buying...I still have some old Seagate 160GB drives that still work fine with far more use and abuse than this WD.
Summary:
After the new reinstall to a 2TB drive the 1TB drive was to be retasked to something else but I wanted to get about 600GB of data off of it. I had some random lockups previously, but now I have intermittent dropping offline (though I can still view the contents and open files), I just cannot copy anything off of it anymore. Even a USB caddy to the laptop did the same thing, so not a controller/mainboard/OS issue. Never buying WD again.

Really good drives

5/5
 1/18/2013 2:36:59 PM
Eagleseye from Edmonton writes:
Strengths:
One of the fastest and most reliable spinners. Really good warranty support from WD factory. Quiet enough.
Weaknesses:
None. Costs a little more than some others, for good reason. If you want to save a little go to the WD Blue.
Summary:
I have been running a WD Black for over 4 years now as an upgrade from an OEM Hitachi drive. The WD black is way faster. The drives may run hot if you put them in an external enclosure. WD warranty support is straightforward and excellent. I had another WD (2TB Green) drive start vibrating on me a while back, it was still under warranty, and replaced without further ado. Just bought another Black as a data backup for a new SSD, once again replacing a sluggish Hitachi OEM on a new system.

WD 1TB Black

5/5
 7/3/2012 11:41:18 AM
Rama Mandip from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
I don't hear a thing, and no, my case isn't loud. It does it's job. Temperature? Meh. Doesn't get too cold, doesn't get too warm. Don't want it at either end, anyway.
Weaknesses:
Not as fast as an SSD?
Summary:
Honestly, it's a mechanical drive. It's not going to super fast (relatively) no matter what they do. It doesn't vibrate, it doesn't make noise, supports noise control anyway. I've had the same drive for two years with many OS installs on it; now it's just a storage/ STEAM drive, and does it's job just fine. You really don't need a super fast hdd for gaming, unless you really really hate loading screens.

POS

1/5
 6/22/2012 4:34:36 PM
AlexK from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
Fast comparatively to other 7200K drives
Weaknesses:
2 drives failed within 1 year. Most disappointing was they not just went defunct plainly, but all of them died in a very particular way - they totally shitted the whole system even though system drive was on another controller (they made whole system so slow eg Windows 7 boot from my SSD drive would take several hours instead of usual <1 min). Yet they were visible from BIOS but not from OS. When they were in working state shadow copies were lost periodically (this happens due to disk errors
Summary:
Don't even bother to buy. Memory Express replaced the first drive; the second drive just died very same way, I'll ask them if they could replace it with some other drive.

My first WD drive to fail

2/5
 1/10/2012 10:22:06 AM
gordon from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
I have used nothing but WD drives for the last few years. This was the first one I have had that failed.
Weaknesses:
It only sees intermittent use. Must be a factory defect of some sort
Summary:
Drive failed after less than a year. Was not able to recover the data from it

Same as the others. go with price

4/5
 10/14/2011 6:45:27 PM
Carl from City of cows writes:
Strengths:
It's a mechanical hard drive "spinner" does what it's suppose to do.
Don't fall for the SATA III or 6GB thing. No mechanical drive ever will come close to those speeds. Only SSD will do it maybe in a few years and many price drops.
Weaknesses:
They get hot and are louder than other brands. I had a DOA twice over 3 years from a total of about 14. One just died a few weeks ago after a year.
Summary:
Hitachi makes better drives and is becoming the new flavor of the month atm but honestly out of all the big 3 companies They are all pretty much equal. go with the lowest price.