0 items ($0.00) in your cart
MX17509
  • MX17509: Sonata III Quiet Mid Tower w/ EarthWatts 500W

Antec

Sonata III Quiet Mid Tower w/ EarthWatts 500W

From 30 Customer Reviews
MX17509
$149.99
Instant Savings ($20.00)
Sale Ends: Oct 31, 2014 23:59 MDT
Only$129.99
  • SKU: MX17509
  • ILC: 761345151375
  • Part #: SONATA III
Add To Cart
Qty:
Limit 2 per customer
Availability:
Calgary Region
  • Calgary NE: 10+
  • Calgary NW: Out of Stock
  • Calgary SE: 10+
Online Store: 10+
Accuracy of information cannot be guaranteed.
1414756915000 true Store Inventory Updated
MX17509

Customer Reviews

Average Rating:
4/5
With 30 Customer Reviews
3

Antec what happen to you?

1/5
 1/12/2014 6:47:25 AM
Joe Romerowicz from Edmonton writes:
Strengths:
Good looks
Weaknesses:
Build quality
Summary:
I've used the Sonata 3 cases for a number of builds since they were introduced. Not to happy with the last 2 recent builds. Rear fan and hd led not working, case seems to lack the build quality Antec's known for. Poor fitting and weak drive bay covers. I'm pulling out my new build in this case today and will return the case. Good bye forever Sonata 3, it was nice knowing you when you use to care about yourself!

Versatile all around Case

4/5
 2/18/2013 8:33:52 PM
Tim from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
Have had this case for sometime now and all I can say is its great! The glossy Piano black finish is very nice though it does easily smudge. Front IO port with 2 USB, sata and audio connectors is convenient, and the ability to lock the case from both the front and side is a nice touch as well as a little better security. Silicone grommets reduce drive bay noise and front filter is easy to remove and clean.
Weaknesses:
The air flow is decent and heat has not been an issue however you can only add 1 additional case fan and if you have long video card this can greatly restrict the clearance needed and you may have to use an ultra slim 120mm fan mounted behind the lower drive bays for extra cooling and air circulation. I used a Scythe ultra slim fan and it works just fine.
Summary:
Awesome all around case and a good deal with the included power supply though i changed it out for a Antec 650 watt 80+ Bronze hybrid cable power unit.

These have been upgraded

5/5
 11/27/2012 9:57:42 AM
John from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
Nice clean case with inlet filter and PSU. Easy to work on.
Weaknesses:
None
Summary:
These now have front USB3 ports and a USB3 MB connector as well as a 2.5" mount on the bottom of the case.

These have been updated...

5/5
 11/22/2012 1:06:43 PM
Red90 from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
FYI, new cases have 2 x USB3.0 on the front panel and a USB 3.0 MB plug. No eSATA on front. I like these case. Easy to work on. Good amount of space.
Weaknesses:
No built in 2.5" mount.
Summary:

Great case & PS combo, but beware: does not work with most UPSs

3/5
 10/9/2012 2:21:19 PM
Paul from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
cheap quiet
Weaknesses:
The PSU that is sold with this case will not work with most UPSs. It will only works with true sine wave UPSs, which are quite expensive. If you connect it to a common UPS, any brown-out or power outage, no matter how short, will result in your computer rebooting. Antec should really put a visible warning on this product stating you will need an expensive (i.e. $300+) UPS for it to work.
Summary:
A bargain case/PSU combo! Just beware, if you want to hook it up to a UPS, stay away from this product. Unless of course you don't mind forking out additional few hundred bucks for a compatible UPS.

Basic entry level case.

3/5
 2/11/2012 4:07:09 PM
JR from Edmonton writes:
Strengths:
Power Supply (500W) Included for price Cloth Fiber wrapping in box to prevent scratches Edges seem clean - no cuts or scratches after install Quiet
Weaknesses:
Hard drive bays are within an inch of the side mount SATA connectors on most all Asus Mainboards, making it a challenge to connect SATA cables Only main power lead is sleeve wrapped. No front USB 3.0 SSD Compatible?!? (no mountings, the cases 2 page English manual shows no instruction), it was necessary to free mount one the SSD's in the HD sliders using the rubber grommets as side shims due to the fact that they would mount no other way!! Non removable back plate.
Summary:
This is your basic entry level case, thus it will work well for most basic setups. I suppose you could say that if your system build (components) require more than 500W power, IE you are running SLI, then this is not the case for you. The 500W PSU generally puts the case in its ideal market, the basic home user. As far as install goes i found myself cursing at the case 3x during the process, mainly the side mount SATA connecters being blocked by the HD rails as well as lack of SSD mountings.

Great Case

5/5
 4/22/2011 4:57:23 PM
Franc from Edmonton writes:
Strengths:
Good design
Quality built, Solid
Quiet and cool runs between 30 & 32 degrees
Drive bay system is great
Weaknesses:
Needs to have a firewire & USB 3.0 port on front of case
Summary:
Overall a great case. after a month of use everything runs good.

getting loud

4/5
 11/17/2010 7:44:18 PM
Norman Wiebe from Red Deer writes:
Strengths:
Looks great, easy mounting of optical drives, and hard drives. Hard drives have silcone gromettes to reduce vibration, comes with power supply.
Weaknesses:
New version power supply can be loud.
Summary:
I've purchased 5 of these cases over the past couple years, and they have all been great. The new power supply in my latest case is rather noisy thouhg. All of my other machines operate so quietly you wouldn't know they were on, but this latest one sounds like it's about to fly off my desktop.

Good case but it does have some issues...

4/5
 7/16/2010 2:01:00 PM
Al from Edmonton writes:
Strengths:
Quiet. Looks good. Easy to install hard drives, DVD & CD drives and yes a floppy drive, etc. The stock 500W power supply's 12 volt rails have been upgraded to 22 Amps from 17 compared to when the Sonata III first came out for sale. Has a factory mount in the bottom of the case for a 2.5 in. HD. Has factory mount holes for an (optional) internal cooling fan.
Weaknesses:
The paint on the entire exterior is very easily scratched off. It appears that primer was not used. Very tight for a larger video card if you have installed an internal cooling fan. The metal trim plate surrounding the front USBs attracts static electricity discharges. The front air filter can stick when being removed for cleaning. One of my cases had pinched wires interferring with the air filter. Rear fan speed is only adjustable from inside the case. Case door likes to stick.
Summary:
Quiet and easy to use, with a better power supply than before. But a little more quality control in the fit and finish should be expected from Antec. However, I would have no problem buying this same case again for my next build.

I have seen the light

5/5
 3/18/2010 3:33:58 PM
Devin from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
Easy access to drive bays.
Plenty of room
Unbeatable price
Silent as they come
Weaknesses:
Only one fan. (2 if you buy an extra)
Summary:
This is a BEAUTIFUL case. Its low cost and amazing design make this one a keeper. I don't think I will ever buy another case as long as these are still made.

This case has seriously made me want to start building computers again. Zero frustration trying to put hardware. Everything just fit.

It may not be ideal if you want to cram a tonne of hardware in, since it only has the one fan but other then that I have not seen a better case.

So unless your doing something crazy, look no farther.