0 items ($0.00) in your cart
MX15586
  • MX15586: Xtreme N Gigabit Router

Xtreme N Gigabit Router

From 42 Customer Reviews
MX15586
$69.99
Instant Savings ($30.00)
Sale Ends: Jul 31, 2014 23:59 MDT
Only$39.99
  • SKU: MX15586
  • ILC: 790069298561
  • Part #: DIR-655
Add To Cart
Qty:
Limit 2 per customer
While Supplies Last Availability:
Calgary Region
  • Calgary NE: Out of Stock
  • Calgary NW: Limited Quantities
  • Calgary SE: Limited Quantities
Online Store: Out of Stock
Accuracy of information cannot be guaranteed.
1406060499000 true Store Inventory Updated
MX15586

Customer Reviews

Average Rating:
3/5
With 42 Customer Reviews
5

DLink "malware/virus" may hijack your browser!

1/5
 6/9/2013 1:56:00 PM
Mike from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
None
Weaknesses:
The router has a default "feature" called "Advanced DNS" that hijacks Google web searches I type into my Firefox address bar, and redirects them to dlinksearch.com. Turning off the "feature" and rebooting everything didn't fix the problem. DLink Tech Support first claimed I needed to contact my computer manufacturer. Then they told me that even though they admit DLink did something to my browser, it wasn't up to them to fix it because the problem was now in the browser; not the router.
Summary:
If you want a router that hijacks your search engine and has useless Tech Support, this is the router for you. For more info, do a (Google) search for "dlinksearch malware" and "dlinksearch virus". (After many hours, I finally managed to rid myself of dlinksearch, but not sure how.)

continuously works

5/5
 5/2/2013 5:12:00 AM
darrell cheperdak from edmonton writes:
Strengths:
features are just too numerous to mention but as far as ease to use and reliability, it seems to be infallible purchased a few years ago to upgrade from N network, to extreme N network, with no regrets
Weaknesses:
i havent come across any problems to mention, my preference when i set up networks for people
Summary:
networks are cheap now, along with most components, if you need to set up a solid network, and dont wish to get too "techy", this should more than meet your requirements the bonus, numerous features to use, if and when you do become "techy" darrell

Great Router - not sure why people can't find options

4/5
 12/16/2012 1:09:47 AM
Drew from Edmonton writes:
Strengths:
Solid, works great, has for 3 years, no issues.
Weaknesses:
None that I'm aware of. Though I need to verify if I'm getting close to wireless N speeds now that I have forced it to use only "N" for the wireless. (300mbps)
Summary:
A bunch of users complained the wireless can't be locked down by MAC address, they just don't know how to use the router or where to find the settings. It's very easy to lock down. Click under Advanced, then Network Filter. Shows you right there to turn MAC filtering on or off and gets populated by devices you already have connected. It's great. I have no complaints about the router. Works great with my dedicated NAS.

Decent router at a decent cost.

5/5
 11/8/2012 4:01:22 PM
andrew from calgary writes:
Strengths:
price has come down a lot. i bought this router 2-3 years ago and still going strong. mind you i paid 170 for it at the time. Always fast wireless and range is very good, covers my three story house and my neighbors to boot.wired connections never a problem. i have an attached 2tb WD NAS and they both seem to work amazing together.
Weaknesses:
NOT DUALBAND...so if you're looking for the best this is not it.
Summary:
awesome router. pretty easy setup. fast and reliable. mine has been running almost solid for the time Ive had it.Taking into account that this router cost me 100 more than what they're asking now its a steal of a deal. i would buy it at this price any day. only weakness IMO is if your a gamer or have heavy wireless loads i would advise a dual band router.

complete refused to install

1/5
 11/6/2012 7:01:25 AM
Tobias from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
didnt see any...
Weaknesses:
didnt recognise my ethernet port and refused to install
Summary:
this router is a fiasco: adhering to the instructions, I first tried to install the software before connecting the router. But in the early stages of installation the network adapter of my netbook was not recognised (even though it worked fine and I was connected to the internet) and the installation aborted - nothing I could do. Reading through the other reviews, I didnt even try to call the (useless) DLink hotline but just returned it to MemoryExpress. Awful choice, never again!

Best Router Purchased To Date

5/5
 10/6/2012 10:09:18 AM
Annonymous from Edmonton writes:
Strengths:
Have used this Router for approximately 6 years. Recently updated the firmware. Reaches everywhere in a four level split house,it picked up a Belkin Adapter on anouther level in a snap. Have used a Linksys switch with it as well & also use a WD Livewire box without any problems at all. All setups were done manually, better control to the end result.
Weaknesses:
Wish it were a dual band, but that isn't a weakness perse!
Summary:
5 stars in my opinion.

Good when it works

1/5
 9/1/2012 1:26:30 PM
MC from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
- Very strong signal, double the range of our old router - Very fast wireless speeds - All of our devices connected to it without problems (win XP, win 7, apple)
Weaknesses:
- Locks up every 8 hours and needs to be power-cycled (this is with the latest available firmware, 2.07) - Can't restrict wireless access to only allow a specific list of MAC addresses (my old Netgear router could do this) - Using the router's USB port to share a USB hard drive on your network requires installation of software/drivers on your PC
Summary:
When it works it works well. But the unit I have seems to lock up every 8 hours; wireless devices say they are still connected but the router passes no traffic and cannot be pinged. So, I will be taking it back.

Great Router - Reliable

5/5
 12/21/2011 5:19:39 PM
Technocrat from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
Gigabit LAN QoS Easy to Manage
Weaknesses:
Runs a bit hot, keep it in a cool palce
Summary:
Have had this router for over 2 years. Still running firmeware 1.21 (was the best version). Hardware Version A3. Router works well even with servicing TELUS Optik TV services (I don't use the TELUS provided router). The only downside is it could use a reboot once in awhile.

The politician of routers

2/5
 12/17/2011 8:47:44 PM
Michael from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
- If you like white, it's white, it will match your macbook. - 3 antennas, if that matters to you. - Wireless N - Gigabit
Weaknesses:
- Lack of updates. - Very cheaply made - Says it can do wireless MAC filtering only, right in it's built in docs, yet this setting is no where to be found, unless you disable page styles using firefox (view>> page style >> no style). For some bizarre reason they have this setting hidden from being accessible yet boast its functionality. - Doesn't support DD-WRT - DynDNS only (Dynamic IP update client) - Better to just avoid d-links products if you need quality and reliability!
Summary:
D-link is like a politician, promises the world but rarely delivers. They are horrible for providing quality updates, their site is terrible and forget any kind of customer service, this is a world that d-link just doesn't understand. Give us your money and go away and things break right away. Not to mention my d-link switch has this loud buzzing sound, and yet its on a UPS so it's not dirty power. Better off to just go with the Linksys WRT54GL and install DD-WRT on it.

Was great for awhile.....

3/5
 10/17/2011 6:12:21 AM
Michael from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
Relatively easy to install for a newbie like me
Worked great for the first two months
Weaknesses:
Crashed and burned in third month
Hate the DLink website
Summary: